HomeReviewsFat Gripz Review ()

Fat Gripz Review (2024)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

Fat Gripz are the most popular thick grip training attachments on the market. You can easily add these to dumbells, barbells, or cable attachments to increase the diameter and build bigger and thicker arms. They’re available in three sizes, are easy to use, and are very affordable.

Overall Rating: 9.5/10

Build Quality: 9.7/10

Ease of Use: 9.7/10

Versatility: 9.2/10

Effectiveness: 9.5/10

Price: 9.6/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Those looking to implement thick grip training into their programs.
  • Someone who wants indestructible durability
  • Anyone who desires a juicy arm pump

Things to Consider

  • No additional color options for each size
  • Not useful for pushing movements

So, you want juicy forearms, biceps that pop, and a grip so strong you’ll bring anyone to their knees…

Well, I’ve got just what the doctor ordered: Fat Gripz.

Fat Gripz are very simple attachments that wrap around your dumbbell or barbell shafts to thicken the diameter. You can also use them on cable attachments and weight machines to make any movement more challenging.

In this article, I’ll walk you through the Fat Gripz construction, benefits, and the different versions you can buy.

If you’re looking for a great upper body pump and you want bigger and stronger arms, read below to see how these can help.

Let’s dig in.

Fat Gripz
Fat Gripz Pro

Fat Gripz are excellent handle grips that make the diameter of barbells, dumbbells, etc... thicker. This makes your grip stronger and leads to increased arm size and strength. For the price, they're a great low-cost accessory for every gym.

CHECK PRICE

Fat Gripz Review

Fat Gripz on Dumbells

The Fat Gripz have been around for years now and, in that time, they’ve become a very popular workout accessory. So popular that there have been dozens of knock-offs and a whole slew of similar product concepts with different shapes and sizes.

The product itself is very simple. Fat Gripz are small, lightweight cylinders that increase the diameter of a weight implement.

Fat Gripz Close Up

They’re made of a hard compound that looks and feels like heavy-duty rubber. One on side of the grip is a slit that you simply pull apart to attach to whatever you’re using.

Once attached, the grips sit very snugly, especially if you’re using a knurled barbell or dumbbell. The inner diameter measures 1″ and the outer diameter measures around 2.25″. Depending on the diameter of the bar/implement you’re using, they may not close entirely around the shaft, but that’s ok. Once they’re attached, they’re not going anywhere so long as you’re squeezing and using them as designed.

Fat Gripz EZ Curl Bar

On each end of the grips is a beveled edge that was purposely designed to accommodate bends. A prime example of this is an EZ Curl Bar, which the Fat Gripz fit very well. Angled pull-up bars, angled cable attachments, etc… are also examples.

Fat Gripz End

I’ve owned Fat Gripz for several years. Since my version, the exterior has been updated to include a textured, knurled surface. I don’t have any issues whatsoever with my smooth-surface grips – my grip feels very secure. Still, this is a nice improvement on the current model for enhanced texture.

Fat Gripz Benefits

There are several benefits to consider when deciding on whether or not to buy Fat Gripz.

You’ll Build Bigger and Stronger Arms

Fat Gripz Dumbbell Curl

One of the biggest benefits of Fat Gripz is that they recruit more muscle fibers, particularly in the forearms. Most people, myself included, have forearms that lag behind their biceps and triceps in terms of size and strength. Slapping on some additional forearm size will immediately make your arms look even bigger. With increased strength and endurance of the forearms as well, you’ll be able to train heavier weights for more reps, which is a recipe for more size and strength throughout the entire arm.

Your Grip Strength Will Skyrocket

Fat Gripz Dumbbell Row

Another huge benefit of the Fat Gripz, and thick-bar training in general, is that your grip strength will explode. That’s simply because the demand is greater since you have to work harder to hold onto a thicker shaft (don’t be nasty). Part of what makes them so effective is that you have to actively squeeze them… your grip can’t help but improve.

Whether you’re training isometric holds or repping high-volume biceps curls, they will lead to serious grip gains.

They Take Up No Space

Storing Fat Gripz

Fat Gripz are less than 5″ long, they’re 2.25″ thick, and they weigh less than 2 pounds. You can easily pack them in a bag to take to the gym or you store them virtually anywhere in your home gym. I store mine on my Wall Control setup.

They’re Easy to Use

Fat Gripz couldn’t be easier to use. Simply grab them, pull the opening apart, wrap it, and release. You’ll be using a thick bar in no time.

They’re Inexpensive

Fat Gripz are very affordable at only $29.95 for a pair. They also ship for free from Amazon.

Which Model Should You Buy

Fat Gripz Models

You can purchase Fat Gripz in three different versions. The most popular option is the Pro model, which is what I’m reviewing here. These are the original version, and they’ll be great for a wide population of lifters. The Pro model is sold in bright blue but they also have a limited edition colorway, which is black with blue text.

If you want something more hardcore and challenging, you can purchase the Fat Gripz Extreme. These bright orange grips are thicker than the Pro model at 2.75″ vs. 2.25″.

If you want something more entry-level, the Fat Gripz One are your best bet. These are sold as black with orange text or pink with purple text. The main difference is the outer diameter is 1.75″ vs. 2.25″.

My Experience With Fat Gripz

Fat Gripz Barbell Curl

I’ve been using Fat Gripz for years with great success. They do exactly what they claim to do. They increase grip strength, they give you a juicy pump, and they build bigger and stronger arms.

I don’t use them in every session, but every time I do use them I leave telling myself “I need to use those more often.”

My favorite movements to perform with them include the following:

  • Curls and all the variations (hammer curls, dumbbell curls, preacher curls, EZ bar curls, etc…)
  • Triceps kickbacks with dumbbells and pushdowns on the cable machine
  • Dumbbell rows
  • Pull-ups on the squat rack
  • Isometric barbell holds for time (excellent for grip)

Overall, they work exceedingly well. I have also used a few knock-offs that companies have sent me. Do not buy the knock-offs. They don’t work as well and you’re not saving that much money considering how inexpensive the Fat Gripz are.

Check out the Best Barbells and Best Dumbbells for using Fat Gripz.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • They work exactly as described and with great success.
  • They’re lightweight and small, making them easy to store and take with you on the go.
  • They’re extremely durable – you’ll probably be able to hand them down to your grandkids.
  • They work on a variety of implements, including dumbbells, barbells, cable attachments, weight machines, and more.
  • They’re inexpensive.

Cons

  • Some implements with already thick handles/grips may not be suitable with the Fat Gripz.
  • I wish there were more color options and/or a neutral color option like black & white.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I have been very pleased with the Fat Gripz. They’re a cheap weightlifting accessory that take up little space and work very well. I highly recommend them if you’re looking to build bigger, stronger arms.

Fat Gripz Rating

Build Quality: 9.7/10

Ease of Use: 9.7/10

Versatility: 9.2/10

Effectiveness: 9.5/10

Price: 9.6/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.5/10

If you’re looking for an affordable and effective training tool that will take your grip strength and arm size to the next level, I highly recommend Fat Gripz. They’re inexpensive and they work!

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.
Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.

Latest Articles

Prime Fitness Shorty Adjustable Bench Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Prime Shorty Adjustable Bench is one of the most versatile benches you can buy. Its...

Bells of Steel Residential Air Bike Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Bells of Steel Residential Air Bike is an affordable home gym option with solid specs....

Titan Series Adjustable Bench Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Titan Series Adjustable Bench is a quality ladder-style bench with solid specs and adjustment angles....