HomeReviewsREP AB-3000 2.0 FID Bench Review ()

REP AB-3000 2.0 FID Bench Review (2024)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

The REP AB-3000 2.0 is a value adjustable weight bench with flat, incline, and decline functionality. It has a 1,000 lb weight rating and an IPF-spec’d bench height. With 13 back and seat adjustments and an integrated leg roller, you can achieve multiple training positions.

Overall Rating: 9.1/10

Build Quality: 9.3/10

Dimensions: 9.1/10

Versatility: 9.5/10

Storage & Mobility: 7.5/10

Aesthetics: 9.3/10

Value: 9.7/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Someone looking for a great value
  • Those looking for a flat, incline, and decline adjustable bench
  • Anyone who wants color options

Things to Consider

  • This bench can’t be stored vertically
  • The pad gap is wider than some
  • No angle callouts on seat adjustment

I’m beginning to lose count of how many REP benches I’ve owned and tested.

With more on the way, I may need a separate gym just to store them all!

In addition to REP, I’ve reviewed dozens of adjustable weight benches here at Garage Gym Lab.

The AB-3000 has been around for several years, but the newest 2.0 version introduces some seriously nice improvements.

Most notably, this version offers better stability, an improved adjustable leg roller, and a reversible seat pad.

It’s one of the best value benches on the market, especially with its 1,000 lb weight rating.

However, there are still areas for more improvement.

In this review, I’ll cover everything you need to know about the REP AB-3000 2.0. I’ll share the pros and cons and compare it to the popular and more economical REP AB-3100.

Let’s dig in.

REP AB-3000 2.0 FID Adjustable Bench

REP AB-3000 2.0 Adjustable Bench
REP AB-3000 2.0
REP AB-3000 2.0
The REP AB-3000 2.0 is a value-packed adjustable bench with incline and decline capabilities. It's a sturdy, well-made bench with a 1,000 lb weight rating.
CHECK PRICE

REP continues to push the envelope with their bench lineup.

From budget to premium, they have something for everyone.

Honestly, I didn’t really care for the original AB-3000. The design wasn’t particularly unique, and it had some quirks that I just couldn’t get past.

However, when version 2.0 was released, I saw where REP addressed some of my biggest pain points and made something more innovative and user-friendly.

It’s still not my favorite bench, but it’s much better than its predecessor, and I think it has solidified itself as the best value adjustable bench on the market.

Let’s have a look at the specs and jump into the review.

Specs

  • Weight: 89lbs
  • Total Length: 56.6″
  • Total Width: 25.8″
  • Total Height: 17.1″
  • Adjustment Type: Ladder
  • Back Pad Angles: -12, 0, 15, 30, 45, 60, 70, 85
  • Seat Pad Angles: 0, 5, 10, 15, 20
  • Back Pad Length/Width: 36″/11.8″ or 14″
  • Seat Pad Length/Width: 15″/10.7″ & 15″ (Tapered)
  • Pad Gap: 2.25″
  • Weight Capacity: 1,000 lbs
  • Construction: 11-Gauge Steel
  • Other Features: Integrated adjustable leg rollers, wheels & handle, reversible seat pad, multiple color options
  • Assembly Time: ~15-20 minutes

Design and Construction

Despite its reputation as a “value bench,” the REP AB-3000 is well-made with heavy-duty materials. Built with 11-gauge steel throughout, it carries a weight rating of 1,000 lbs, which is higher than most benches in this class.

Combined with a shorter length, it weighs only 89 lbs, making it easy to move around the gym. Although lighter than some, it’s one of the most stable adjustable benches I’ve tested and is a clear improvement over the first generation.

Dumbbell Pullovers on the REP AB-3000 2.0

In version 2.0, REP increased its stability with a wider front post and rubber feet on the front and back. I’ve tested this bench in numerous ways, including dumbbell pullovers, which require ample lateral stability. While the AB-3000 didn’t perform quite as well as the heavier AB-5000 and AB-5200, it did a great job on pullovers, presses, chest-supported rows, and more.

I only noticed wobble when initially setting up for some lifts. For example, when picking heavy dumbbells up from the floor in preparation for a press, there may be some wobble as you lean to one side. However, once centered, the bench is rock solid.

Decline Dumbbell Press on the REP AB-3000 2.0

As an FID bench, the AB-3000 can operate in flat, incline, and decline positions. Not everyone needs or uses a decline position in their home gym, but it’s a great feature for situps, decline presses, etc. Regardless of the setting, I was impressed with its stability – a testament to the overall design and construction.

Now let’s take a closer look at the main features of the AB-3000 2.0.

Adjustment Mechanisms

The AB-3000 uses a ladder mechanism on the back, which is my favorite way to adjust a bench. Compared to a telescoping spine, a ladder system is faster and easier to adjust.

To adjust vertically, you simply have to pull up on the back pad, and the arm will slide into position. Adjusting back down isn’t quite as easy since you have to draw the arm out manually, but it’s still very quick.

Adjusting the back pad of the REP AB-3000 2.0

One downside of this bench is that it doesn’t have a ladder cage like on the AB-4100 and AB-5200. An enclosed ladder limits unnecessary movement and generally makes for an easier setup. While I wish the 3000 had one, it would contribute to a slightly heavier build, so I can understand the decision to leave it off.

Product Suggestion

I would like to see an optional ladder cage option for this bench. With the bolts already in place, swapping for a cage would be an easy upgrade.

Unlike the other ladder benches in REP’s catalog, the AB-3000 2.0 uses a pop-pin seat adjustment. It’s simple enough to use, but there aren’t any angle markings. I’d love to see REP laser cut a window in the upright for quick angle identification.

REP AB-3000 2.0 Seat Adjustment

With eight back adjustments from -12 to 85 degrees and five seat adjustments from 0 to 20 degrees, this is one of the most versatile adjustable benches on the market. Aside from a couple of areas, I’m pleased with the overall adjustability.

The Frame

One of my favorite features of this bench is that it’s 17.1″ tall. Not only is this IPF-spec’d, but it lets most lifters generate proper leg drive. Taller benches can be problematic for shorter lifters, but this height is ideal for nearly everyone.

REP AB-3000 2.0 Side

Another great feature is the narrow front post. When it comes to generating leg drive, the last thing you want to contend with is a wide front post. The AB-3000 offers plenty of room for foot placement, whether you like a narrow or wide stance. I like to bring my feet in, and I’ve had no issues on this bench.

REP purposely widened the rear support for increased rigidity. On the first generation, heavy movements at some angles caused minor wobble. However, the wobble has been noticeably reduced by extending the support and adding rubber end-caps. It’s still not as stable as some heavier benches, but I appreciate the improvement.

REP AB-3000 2.0 Front Post

Perhaps the most unique feature of the AB-3000 2.0 is the integrated leg rollers. I didn’t care for this feature in version one because the angle was set unless you brought out a wrench every time you trained. REP now offers six dedicated holes with a pin to easily adjust the leg rollers. This is hugely beneficial because, depending on the movement and your body size/position, having multiple angles increases comfort and performance.

The Pads

The bench pads have also been improved in version 2.0. Instead of a back pad that tapers toward the top, the new pad is squared off to provide more support and surface area. The stock back pad measures 36″ long and 12″ wide, but you can now purchase a 14″ wide pad for additional shoulder support.

REP AB-3000 2.0 Pad Gap

At 36″ long, many lifters can use the entire back pad as a flat bench. This is important because the AB-3000 2.0 has a 2.25″ gap between the seat and back. While fairly common for this bench style, it’s wider than others and can be annoying when flat benching.

However, depending on your height, you can avoid the gap entirely by flat benching on the back pad. Taller lifters may not get this luxury. If you’re tall and/or don’t want to contend with a flat gap, the AB-5000 and AB-5200 would be better options.

REP AB-3000 2.0 Bench Dimensions

Another improvement in version 2 is a reversible seat. A common complaint about this seat is that its tapered design starts at 15″ wide, which can interfere with foot placement. While the rounded front is more comfortable when using the leg rollers, having the ability to reverse the seat is better for those seeking leg freedom since 10.7″ is much more manageable.

Generally, both the seat and back pads are firm and grippy. They’re 2.75″ thick and use the same vinyl as the more expensive REP benches.

Storage & Mobility

The biggest drawback to the AB-3000 is its storage capabilities. While you can store the pricier REP benches vertically, you can’t with this one. Therefore, you need a dedicated area on your floor for this bench to live. It’s not a huge deal if you just have one bench in your rack, but vertical storage is an underrated feature of adjustable benches.

REP AB-3000 2.0 Bench Mobility

Mobility, on the other hand, is pretty good. This bench does offer back wheels, and the horizontal handle between the leg rollers is much better than the vertical handle in version one. That said, it’s fairly narrow, so those with wide hands may find it challenging to get a good grip. The lower weight of 89 lbs also naturally makes this an easier bench to move around.

Aesthetics

REP AB-3000 2.0 Pads

Aesthetically, this is a nice-looking bench with multiple colors. In addition to metallic black, matte black, red, and blue from the first version, REP has added white as an option. In my opinion, the white looks outstanding and is easily my favorite of the bunch.

The stainless nameplate on the side is a nice touch, and the laser-cut back pad numbers enhance the overall look.

Shipping & Assembly

Assembling the AB-3000 is very easy and takes around 15-20 minutes. The main frame of the bench ships preassembled. All you have to do is add the rear support, pads, and leg rollers.

The entire bench ships for free in a single box and is well-protected with foam inserts and inner boxes for the pads.

REP AB-3000 vs. REP AB-3100

REP AB-3000 2.0
REP AB-3100
Product
Product
REP AB-3000 2.0
REP AB-3100
Price
Price
$319
$269
Weight Capacity
Weight Capacity
1,000 lbs
700 lbs
Adjustment Type
Adjustment Type
Ladder
Ladder
Decline
Decline
Yes
No
Vertical Storage
Vertical Storage
No
No

Despite the REP AB-3100 having a higher number in its name, it’s actually REP’s most economical adjustable bench. There are several important differences between these two benches that will determine which is right for you.

Most importantly, the AB-3100 does not have a decline setting. If you want or need a decline position, you should go with the AB-3000 2.0.

Aside from that, the pad angles are different. While the AB-3000 2.0 ends at 85 degrees, the AB-3100 ends at 90 degrees. I prefer an 85-degree angle because it’s more comfortable, but some lifters like the true 90-degree setting. The AB-3100 also doesn’t have a 15-degree setting, which the AB-3000 2.0 has. In my experience, the 15-degree setting is nice to have.

Another important distinction is that the AB-3000 2.0 has a 1,000 lb weight rating, while the 3100 has a 700 lb rating. Although either is enough for most people, the AB-3000 is a more robust adjustable bench.

Both benches have wheels for easy portability, but neither offers vertical storage. That said, the AB-3100 is more compact than the 3000 2.0, so if you’re tight on space, this may be an important factor.

In terms of price, the AB-3000 2.0 is around $50 more than the AB-3100. If you have the extra money to spend, I recommend the AB-3000. It’s a better all-around weight bench with better specs, materials, and functionality.

User Reviews

The AB-3000 is one of the most well-reviewed adjustable benches on the market. Since its initial release, it’s attracted thousands of positive reviews. Most owners love the value and overall functionality, but some complained about the lack of storage and limited decline angles.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Excellent value
  • Sturdy construction with a 1,000 lb rating
  • Flat, incline, and decline positions17.1″ height helps with leg drive
  • 8 back and 5 seat adjustments
  • Integrated adjustable leg rollers
  • Reversible seat pad for taper preferences
  • Easily portable with wheels
  • Several color options

Cons

  • No vertical storage capability
  • No angle callouts on seat adjustment
  • Larger pad gap than some

Final Thoughts

It’s true – the REP AB-3000 2.0 is one of, if not the best value adjustable benches around.

The improvements in this second version are notable and well-received.

I love that the seat is reversible, and I appreciate the additional stability through the wider supports and rubber feet.

I also like the improved leg roller, which is now easier and quicker to adjust.

However, I wish it had an optional ladder cage, and adding angle callouts to the seat would be a nice improvement in a future release. Being able to store it vertically would also be a welcomed feature.

Ultimately, if you’re looking for an FID bench at a great price, this is the one I recommend.

Rating

Build Quality: 9.3/10

Dimensions: 9.1/10

Versatility: 9.5/10

Mobility & Storage: 7.5/10

Aesthetics: 9.3/10

Value: 9.7/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.1/10

FAQs about the REP AB-3000 2.0

  • What Kinds of Exercises Can You Do With the REP AB-3000 2.0?

    As an FID bench, you can perform a wide range of exercises, including decline presses, dumbbell pullovers, military presses, and much more. With 13 total adjustments along the back and seat, it’s a versatile and highly adjustable weight bench.

  • How Much Weight will the REP AB-3000 2.0 Hold?

    This bench is built with 11-gauge steel throughout, giving it a weight rating of 1,000 lbs. Compared to most benches in this class that offer 700 lb capacities, it’s a stronger and more durable option.

  • Can I Store the AB-3000 Vertically?

    This bench does not have vertical storage capability, so you’ll have to store it on your floor. While this is a downside of the bench, its smaller frame takes up less space than other benches.

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.
Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.

Latest Articles

Beyond Power Voltra 1 Review: Impressive Tech & Performance

Quick Overview The Beyond Power Voltra 1 is a unique, portable, high-quality cable attachment with up to 200...

Shogun NORD-EX Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Shogun NORD-EX is a posterior chain machine that allows for Nordic curls and back extensions....

REP PR-5000 Power Rack Review (2024)

Quick Overview The REP PR-5000 is a highly configurable power rack with excellent specs for home and commercial...