HomeReviewsREP PR-5000 Power Rack Review ()

REP PR-5000 Power Rack Review (2024)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

The REP PR-5000 is a highly configurable power rack with excellent specs for home and commercial gyms. It uses 3×3 uprights with 1″ holes for excellent compatibility and offers dozens of attachments. With multiple height and depth options, it will fit virtually any space, and it comes in multiple colors that you can customize.

Overall Rating: 9.4/10

Build Quality: 9.4/10

Features: 9.3/10

Size Options: 9.5/10

Attachments: 9.3/10

Aesthetics: 9.5/10

Value: 9.3/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Someone looking for a 3×3 power rack
  • Those who want optional cable attachments
  • Anyone looking for a “custom” rack

Things to Consider

  • Some attachments could be improved
  • Not compatible with certain American-made attachments
  • There are less expensive options

Let me get straight to the point…

The REP PR-5000 is the best squat rack for a home gym, in my opinion.

You can argue that a 3×3 rack from one company is close enough to another.

But there are considerations that make some stand out from the crowd, and the PR-5000 has several notable features.

Their attachments are unique and cross-compatible. They let you customize the rack with multiple colors. You can integrate complete cable systems. It has a narrower width for better bar clearance. There are multiple height and depth options for different configurations.

And that’s just to name a few.

Still, it’s not perfect, and there are some minor downsides to consider.

In this review, I’ll share everything you need to know about the REP PR-5000. I’ll share the pros and cons and compare it to the popular REP PR-4000 and Rogue Monster Rack.

Let’s dig in.

REP PR-5000 Power Rack

REP PR-5000 Power Rack
REP PR-5000
REP PR-5000 Power Rack
The REP PR-5000 is a top-notch power rack with excellent features, including 3x3 uprights, 1-inch holes, strong attachment compatibility, and more. It's available in multiple sizes, colors, and configurations.
CHECK PRICE

Specs

  • Tube Size: 3×3 11-Gauge Steel
  • Hole Size: 1″
  • Hole Spacing: 2″
  • Height: 80″ or 93″
  • Depth: 16″, 30″, or 41″
  • Upright Width: 47″
  • Numbered Uprights: Yes
  • Color Options: Metallic Black, Matte Black, Red, White, Blue, Clear Coat

Construction & Build Quality

The PR-5000 is built with thick 11-gauge 3×3 steel, which is the gold standard for a squat rack. REP states the rack has a 1,000 lb capacity – typical for this size – but it can realistically hold more. It’s a tank.

As an imported rack, some may question the quality, especially the welds. In my experience, they’re just as good as any US-made rack I’ve used or owned, including my Sorinex XL Rack. The welds are clean, and each side is fully joined with no gaps.

REP PR-5000 Build Quality and Welds

While the uprights and crossmembers are individually welded, the PR-5000 is a bolt-together rack, which comes with some advantages:

  • It’s easier and more cost-efficient to ship
  • It’s easier to bring into a basement or through tight spaces
  • Its modularity allows for infinite configurations
REP PR-5000 Hardware

The rack uses massive 1″ bolts to connect, making it virtually bomb-proof. Seriously, 1″ is overkill, but as you’ll read below, I generally recommend 1″ racks to future-proof yourself.

Depending on your configuration (more below), you may need to bolt the rack into the ground or use the front foot stabilizers. I recommend the stabilizers so you don’t have to mount into your flooring system, but the rack includes holes in the base plates in case you do.

Size & Footprint

The PR-5000 offers some of the best sizing on the market. You can choose different heights and depths, depending on your space, but my favorite benefit is the upright width. I’ll explain each:

Height

REP PR-5000 Rack Height

When customizing this rack, you can select from an 80″ or 93″ height. As long as you have the ceiling height to accommodate it, I highly recommend 93″.

The taller height gives you better range of motion on pull-ups, more hole options for attachments, and greater versatility on their cable systems.

Depth

REP PR-5000 Depth

You can choose from three interior depths: 16″, 30″, or 41.” I recommend 30″ for most people, which is space-friendly but still roomy enough for all movements.

The 16″ depth works great for a weight storage section, but you can also make an excellent half rack with the 16″ crossmembers. I used this setup for almost a year and loved it.

As a general rule, I recommend the front foot stabilizers when building a 4-post rack, regardless of depth. A 6-post rack is large and heavy enough to stand alone, especially with weights on the back.

Width

REP PR-5000 Front View

One of my favorite features of the PR-5000 is the 47″ outside upright width. Many 3×3 racks have a 49″ width, but 47″ is advantageous for two main reasons:

  • You get better clearance for cleanly un-racking and re-racking your barbell. It’s annoying and unsafe to accidentally clip the uprights with the plates on a bar. 47″ uprights give you an additional inch on each side to safely start and finish your lift.
  • It saves space. 2″ may not sound like much, but space in a home gym is at a premium. And when you start adding plate storage to the rack, it’s even more important.

Attachments & Compatibility

REP designed the PR-5000 with 4-way holes, which is basically a requirement these days. Having holes on each side allows for greater attachment options and compatibility.

For example, with 4-way holes, you can mount storage posts on the side with safeties and j-cups on the front. You can also bridge other crossmembers from the side to create large, multi-functional racks with cables, storage, and more.

REP PR-5000 Uprights in Clear Coat

This rack uses 1″ holes with 2″ spacing, which is what I recommend for most people. You don’t actually need this – 5/8″ holes are plenty – but this ecosystem gets the best R&D and attachments. So, paying a little more to upgrade to 1″ holes is a way to future-proof yourself.

REP also includes laser-cut holes on the front and back of each upright and on the sides of each crossmember. This makes lining up attachments much easier and is better looking.

Let me show you some of the main attachments for the PR-5000:

Safeties

When buying a squat or power rack, you have to include a safety system to protect yourself and your equipment. REP offers strap safeties, flip-down safeties, and safety spotter arms.

REP PR-5000 Safety Spotter Arms

Straps and flip-down safeties are used inside the rack, while spotter arms are best for those who lift off the front of the rack (my preference).

Straps are a little more versatile since you can change the elevation of each side (protecting your face, for example), but flip-downs are better for heavy rack pulls, DIY dip stations, etc.

J-Cups

You’ll also need to add J-cups to your rack to hold your barbell. REP offers standard J-cups and more premium, sandwich-style J-cups.

I recommend sandwich J-cups because they’re more durable, easier to use, and have better barbell protection.

REP PR-5000 Sandwich J-Cups

Regardless, their J-cups are some of my least favorites. The quality is OK, but they’re smaller than some. They’re completely fine for most people, but I recommend third-party cups if you want something beefier.

Pull-Up Bars

REP offers a few different pull-up options, including a traditional straight bar, multi-grip bar, and globe pull-up bar.

Performing Pull-Ups on the REP PR-5000

I recommend the multi-grip because it gives you a skinny and fat bar with several grip options for performing neutral, pronated, and supinated movements. You can also mount it facing up or down, depending on your height requirements.

The globe bars also provide great variety, and you can mount them off the front or sides of the rack.

Cable Systems

One of the biggest reasons to buy a PR-5000 is because of their cable systems. REP is a leader when it comes to cables. They first launched their plate-loaded lat pulldown/low row system, which I owned for a while.

Performing Cable Crossover with the REP Ares on the PR 5000

However, they changed the game with their release of bigger systems, like the Ares and Athena. I now own the Ares, and in my opinion, it’s the best rack-mounted cable system on the market.

It has large dual weight stacks with high and low pulleys, plus two trolleys on the uprights for crossover movements. It’s basically a functional trainer with a full lat pulldown and low row.

Weight Storage

Having on-rack weight storage is a great way to organize your home gym. You can add a weight storage section to the rack or just buy weight storage horns for the rear uprights.

The set comes with three pairs of 12″ and 6″ weight posts for storing any type of weight plates.

Dip Bar

Like others, the PR-5000 has a rack-mounted dip station with angled handles. It’s affordable and easy to set up with the provided hitch pin, but it does take up a fair amount of space when you’re not using it.

Performing Dips on the REP PR-5000

If you have flip-down safeties, I recommend making your own dip station with their utility horns. It’s less expensive and more versatile since you control the handle width.

ISO Arms

ISO Arms, also known as Jammer Arms, became very popular in home gyms because they offer a lot of movement variety. They’re great for performing explosive movements and rotational exercises, and they’re good for mimicking some machines.

REP PR-5000 Half Rack Configuration

However, they’re cumbersome to set up due to their size, weight, and hitch-pin mechanism. They also may get in the way of other attachments you’ll probably use more regularly.

I owned the ISO arms for a while but didn’t use them nearly enough to justify the space and setup time. I eventually sold them and don’t recommend them for most people.

Other Attachments

In addition to these, REP also offers several other attachments, including the following:

  • Utility Seat: Used for box squats, plyometrics, seal rows, and more.
  • Landmine: Used for barbell presses, rows, and rotational movements
  • Leg Rollers: Used for split squats and holders during lat pulldowns
  • Monolift Arms: Used to eliminate barbell walkout and improve bench press setup
  • Belt Squat: Used to perform belt squats (I don’t recommend this attachment for performance deficiencies)
  • Extra Uprights/Crossmembers: Used to bridge other pieces to create a larger rack system

Outside Compatibility

A big consideration with a 3×3 1″ rack ecosystem is attachment compatibility with other companies. While the PR-5000 is “3×3 with 1″ holes, it uses the metric system, so it’s actually a little smaller (2.95″x2.95”).

While most 3×3 imperial-size (US-made) attachments will fit, it may be a little tighter-fitting.

REP PR-5000 Attachment Compatibility

You should also note that US attachments spanning more than one hole may not fit because these small differences add up over distance.

And lastly, attachments that span the rack’s width may also not fit, depending on the rack’s width and side hole heights.

All that said, I have numerous outside attachments on my REP PR-5000 from companies like Rogue, Surplus Strength, Stray Dog Strength, Oak Club, and more.

They all work great.

Aesthetics

I have to give a big round of applause to REP in the looks department. The PR-5000 is a beautiful rack, but the ability to customize the colors sets it apart.

Most racks allow you to pick a single rack color unless you go fully custom with Sorinex, Williams Strength, etc., which are much costlier.

REP PR-5000 Colors

With the PR-5000, you can select different colors for uprights and crossmembers for each section of the rack.

For example, I have clear coat uprights and white crossmembers. But you can also pick a different color upright/crossmember for the storage section.

REP PR-5000 Logo Arch

REP currently offers metallic black, matte black, white, red, blue, and clear coat. I’m a big fan of white and clear coat. Their clear coat is every bit on par with my Sorinex rack.

In my experience, their powder coat is high-quality and stands up well over time.

I also like the large REP arch in the back, but I’d love an option to change the color from black to something else in their catalog.

Ordering Process

REP has a unique ordering process for the PR-5000. Their “Rack Builder” is a fun visualization tool that updates in real-time as you add attachments, change colors, and more.

It’s an intuitive designer that gives you control, allowing you to customize your rack as much as possible. You can view the rack from multiple angles and even visualize it in your space with your phone’s camera.

Building Your Own REP PR-5000 Power Rack

If you want to play a trick on your significant other, send them a picture of the rack in your kitchen or bedroom and grab some popcorn.

The price adjusts as you go, making it seamless from beginning to checkout.

Delivery and Assembly

I’ve assembled four PR-5000s for myself and clients, a couple of which I did by myself.

In every instance, my delivery experience has been positive. The equipment is well-protected and efficiently packaged.

REP PR-5000 Assembly

Assembly is straightforward for a rack, but I highly recommend having an extra set of hands (or two) to make the process easier. REP includes some tools to assemble the rack, but they’re simple wrenches that take forever.

Buy yourself a large ratchet or, better yet, an impact wrench. You’ll thank yourself later.

REP PR-5000 vs. REP PR-4000

REP PR-5000
REP PR-4000
Product
Product
REP PR-5000
REP PR-4000
Price
Price
$899
$799+
Height
Height
80" or 93"
80" or 93"
Tube Size
Tube Size
3x3 11-Gauge
3x3 11-Gauge
Hole Size
Hole Size
1" (2" Spacing)
1" (Westside Spacing)
Plate Storage
Plate Storage
Optional
Optional
Pull-Up Bar
Pull-Up Bar
Various
Various
Colors
Colors
Multiple
Multiple
Numbered Uprights
Numbered Uprights
Yes
Partial

Think of the PR-4000 as the strong little brother of the PR-5000. This rack offers many of the same attachments and configurations as the PR-5000 but with different specs and a lower price point.

The biggest difference is that the PR-4000 uses 5/8″ holes and westside hole spacing (1″) through the bench zone. The benefit of westside spacing is that it gives you more hole options for fine-tuning. However, it’s slightly more cumbersome to set up.

Another difference is you get an additional 24″ depth option with the PR-4000, but I don’t recommend it for many people since it feels much tighter.

REP PR-4000 Power Rack

The PR-4000 has the same color options but doesn’t offer the larger rear arch. It’s still plenty sturdy with the middle crossbeam, but it doesn’t look as good, in my opinion.

This rack is also compatible with the Ares and Athena cable systems, which is a huge selling point.

The PR-4000 starts around $100 less than the 5000, but the savings can be higher based on the attachments you pick.

Ultimately, I think the PR-5000 is the better choice for the future-proofing reasons I mentioned above. However, if you want to save some money, the PR-4000 is an excellent home gym power rack.

REP PR-5000 vs. Rogue Monster Rack

REP PR-5000
Rogue Monster Rack
Product
Product
REP PR-5000
Rogue Monster Rack
Price
Price
$899
$1,285+
Height
Height
80" or 93"
90", 100" or 108"
Tube Size
Tube Size
3x3 11-Gauge
3x3 11-Gauge
Hole Size
Hole Size
1" (2" Spacing)
1" (2" Spacing)
Plate Storage
Plate Storage
Optional
Optional
Pull-Up Bar
Pull-Up Bar
Various
Various
Colors
Colors
Multiple
Multiple
Numbered Uprights
Numbered Uprights
Yes
Yes

The Rogue Monster Rack was one of the first premium ready-to-ship power racks on the market. It’s since become one of the most popular home gym racks. So, how does the PR-5000 stack up?

These racks are similar in that they’re made with 3×3 11-gauge steel and offer 1″ hole spacing. The Rogue monster starts at 90″ tall, with options for 100″ and 108″, making it better for taller ceilings/users.

However, it has 49″ wide uprights, which is a disadvantage compared to the 47″ profile on the PR-5000.

Rogue RM 6 in Home Gym

Rogue offers the most impressive lineup of attachments in terms of variety and quality. Remember, you can use Rogue attachments on the REP rack. The biggest downside with Rogue is they don’t have anything close to the REP Ares at this point.

Aesthetically, Rogue offers more colors but doesn’t allow buyers to customize it beyond a single color. Still, it’s a great-looking rack.

Rogue comes with a premium price but tends to retain its value extremely well. Based on price, specs, aesthetics, and cable systems, I recommend the REP PR-5000 over the Rogue Monster, but you can’t really go wrong with either.

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Excellent versatility with loads of attachments
  • Best-in-class cable systems
  • Heavy-duty 3×3 construction
  • Multiple height and depth options
  • 47″ upright width improves bar clearance
  • Numerous colors with customization

Cons

  • Metric system may prevent some US-made attachments that span multiple holes
  • Can get pricey depending on accessories
  • Some of the attachments could be higher quality

Final Thoughts

The REP PR-5000 is an impressive rack with innovative attachments. REP continues to evolve and introduce new and exciting accessories for their racks.

For that reason alone, I think this is one of the best racks with the highest value.

The narrower width is a notable, underrated benefit, and the multiple configurations are ideal for small to large home gyms.

The Ares and Athena cable systems are best-in-class, making this one of the most versatile racks you can buy.

If you want to save a little money, I recommend stepping down to the PR-4000. Otherwise, the PR-5000 is hard to beat.

REP PR-5000 Rating

Build Quality: 9.4/10

Features: 9.3/10

Size Options: 9.5/10

Attachments: 9.3/10

Aesthetics: 9.5/10

Value: 9.3/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.4/10

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.
Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.

Latest Articles

Beyond Power Voltra 1 Review: Impressive Tech & Performance

Quick Overview The Beyond Power Voltra 1 is a unique, portable, high-quality cable attachment with up to 200...

Shogun NORD-EX Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Shogun NORD-EX is a posterior chain machine that allows for Nordic curls and back extensions....

Prime Fitness Shorty Adjustable Bench Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Prime Shorty Adjustable Bench is one of the most versatile benches you can buy. Its...