HomeReviewsTitan TITAN Series Adjustable Bench Review ()

Titan TITAN Series Adjustable Bench Review (2024)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

The Titan Series Adjustable Bench is a quality ladder-style bench with solid specs and adjustment angles. At 120 lbs, it’s a heavy-duty bench with a 1,000 lb weight capacity. It’s mobile, offers vertical storage, and has a long back pad for all user heights. It’s also affordable and ships for free.

Overall Rating: 9.2/10

Build Quality: 9.2/10

Dimensions: 9.3/10

Versatility: 9.2/10

Storage & Mobility: 9.2/10

Aesthetics: 9.1/10

Value: 9.5/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Anyone looking for a heavy-duty adjustable bench
  • Those looking for solid value
  • Someone who doesn’t need decline angles

Things to Consider

  • Seat hinge sits higher than others
  • No color options

Titan Fitness is one of the biggest names when it comes to budget home gym equipment.

They have an expansive catalog that covers everything from the basics to advanced machines.

Since 2023, Titan has greatly improved their quality and product lineup, competing with some of the top players in the home gym space.

The Titan Series Adjustable Bench is a prime example.

This is a legitimately good weight bench with premium features and specs at a solid price point.

However, there are some things to consider before buying.

In this review, I’ll cover everything you need to know about the Titan Adjustable Bench. I’ll share the pros and cons and compare it to the popular REP AB-5200.

Let’s dig in.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench

Titan Fitness Titan Series Adjustable Bench
Titan Series Adjustable Bench
Titan Series Adjustable Bench
The Titan Series Adjustable Bench is a heavy-duty ladder-style flat/incline bench with great specs at an affordable price.
CHECK PRICE

I have a confession: I didn’t have high hopes when I first heard that Titan was releasing an adjustable bench to compete with REP and Rogue.

Their bench lineup hasn’t been all that impressive – but Titan was adamant this would mark big changes for them.

And after you’re using the bench extensively, I have to agree.

I love the overall design, including the ladder system, long back pad, and IPF height.

However, the seat hinge may be problematic for some, and I wish they offered more color variety.

Still, Titan wasn’t kidding – this changes their bench lineup in a good way.

Let’s have a look at the specs and jump into the review.

Specs

  • Weight: 120 lbs
  • Total Length: 56.5″
  • Total Width: 24.75″
  • Total Height: 17″
  • Back Pad Angles: 0, 15, 30, 38, 45, 55, 60, 70, 85
  • Seat Pad Angles: 0, 15, 30
  • Back Pad Length: 40″
  • Pad Gap: 1.5″
  • Weight Capacity: 1,000 lb
  • Construction: 11-Gauge Steel

Video Review

Legit Surprised - Titan TITAN Series Adjustable Bench Review

Design and Construction

As a “heavy-duty bench,” the Titan Series is made of 11-gauge steel and carries a 1,000 lb weight capacity, which is consistent with others in its class. All-in, the bench weighs 120 lbs, making it one of the beefier options.

It’s clear Titan modeled this bench after the popular REP AB-5200 and Rogue Adjustable Bench 3.0. It’s starkly different (better) than their historical adjustable benches and truly challenges some higher-end competition.

I’ve been impressed with the bench’s stability, and I appreciate several of its features. The wide back support, longer back pad, and ladder system are standout qualities that I’ll detail below.

The Frame

Titan Series Adjustable Bench in Flat Position

There are several positives to this frame. The biggest advantage is that it’s 17″ tall, providing great leg drive for all user heights.

Also beneficial is an ultra-narrow front post that allows for virtually any foot placement. Lifters who like to keep their feet close together will love this design.

The nearly 25″ rear support provides excellent lateral stability. I’ve tested it with heavy dumbbell pullovers, single-arm rows, and more, and it handles them just as well as more expensive options.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench Front Post

The back pad spine is also wider than most, making for a stable base on every lift. Heavy benchers will appreciate the overall stability, especially the back pad.

Lastly, Titan added thick rubber caps on the front and rear supports for extra traction and floor protection.

The combination of rigidity and a 17″ height makes this one of my favorite adjustable frames.

The Ladder

The Titan Series Bench uses a ladder adjustment system for the back and seat. Ladders have become the most popular type of mechanism because they’re fast and easy to use.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench Adjustment Mechanism

This bench offers nine back pad angles, ranging from 0 to 85 degrees. I generally like these angles, but I prefer a 20-degree angle over the 15 on this bench for shallower chest-supported rows and presses.

The seat has three settings of 0, 15, and 30 degrees, which are fairly common.

Incline Bench Press on the Titan Series Adjustable Bench

The support arms have knobs on both sides, so you can quickly make the adjustment regardless of which side you’re on. I also appreciate the nylon roller that sets the angle because it won’t scratch or damage the cage.

The Pads and Gap

The pads on the Titan Series Bench measure nearly 2.5″ thick and are very comfortable. They’re among the most comfortable I’ve tested, but that comes with pros and cons.

On the plus side, it just feels nice against the body, providing good support without being too stiff. However, it may actually be too cushiony for some lifters, especially heavy benchers.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench Vinyl

I’m not a “heavy” bencher, so these pads are some of my favorites. And I think that would be the case for most people. And if you are a competitive or heavy bencher, you may want to purchase a standalone flat bench anyway.

The gap on this bench is roughly 1.5″, which is great for an adjustable bench, but the hinge sits noticeably higher in the space than others. If you accidentally slide into the gap or set up incorrectly, you may feel the hinge, making it less comfortable.

That said, the back pad is 40″ long, meaning most lifters can perform a flat bench press on only the back pad, avoiding the gap entirely.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench Pad Gap

At 12″ wide, most lifters will find these pads supportive and comfortable under the shoulders. However, if you want a 14″ wide pad option, this isn’t the bench for you.

Lastly, the vinyl is quite good and one of the things I’m most impressed with, considering Titan’s past vinyl products. It has excellent grip and is tightly wrapped with no bunching or loose areas.

Storage & Mobility

This bench has a handle and wheel set for easy mobility, which is necessary considering how much it weighs. The knurled horizontal handle works well for creating easy leverage, but it’s fairly narrow, so users with big hands may have issues.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench Vertical Storage

The wheels are some of the smoothest I’ve ever experienced on an adjustable bench. In a weird way, it’s fun to wheel this bench around the gym.

It also stores vertically, which is a huge benefit in a home gym where space is at a premium. The back pad does swing out a little bit when stored upright, but it’s a minor “problem” that doesn’t impact space much.

Aesthetics

I generally love the overall look of the bench. The steel ladder cages pop off the black powder coat, and I like the ‘TITAN’ laser cutout and debossed pad logo.

Though, the thing I like most is the classic Titan red anodized knobs. The metallic sheen looks outstanding and feels very premium.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench Red Accents

However, the bench is missing color variety that competing benches offer. I’d love to see frame colors or even different knob colors to match different aesthetics.

Otherwise, Titan did a great job here.

Delivery and Assembly

The bench was delivered in a single box via FedEx, and everything arrived in great condition. The package was well protected and insulated, and I had no issues (unlike in the past with some Titan products).

Assembly is similar to other benches and takes one person around 15-20 minutes.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench vs. REP AB-5200

Titan Series Bench
REP AB-5200 2.0
Product
Product
Titan Series Bench
REP AB-5200 2.0
Price
Price
$449.99
$499.99+
Weight Capacity
Weight Capacity
1,000 lbs
1,000 lbs
Adjustment Type
Adjustment Type
Ladder
Ladder
Decline
Decline
No
Yes
Back Angles
Back Angles
9 Settings
10 Settings
Vertical Storage
Vertical Storage
Yes
Yes
Color Options
Color Options
No
Yes

The REP AB-5200 is one of the most popular adjustable benches. These benches compare favorably, but there are a few things to point out.

Both benches are heavy-duty with big, 1,000 lb weight capacities. The Titan bench weighs 120 lbs, while the AB-5200 weighs 115 lbs. Both have wheels and can be stored vertically.

The AB-5200 has more back and seat pad angles, making it a more versatile option overall. It also has three decline options up to -8 degrees via an adjustable rear post.

REP AB 5200 Adjustable Bench

While both benches are IPF height, I prefer the 17″ on the Titan bench vs. the 17.5″ height on REP’s. Dimensionally, both are similar, but the 5200 has a slightly longer back pad and better seat gap clearance.

I also like how REP offers multiple colors and allows buyers to customize the frame and ladder cages. You can also add a wide pad, which Titan doesn’t currently offer.

Price-wise, the 5200 is more expensive by up to $100+ as of this review. If you want decline angles, color options, and decline angles, it’s an outstanding bench. However, I recommend the Titan Series Bench if you just need a heavy-duty flat/incline bench and don’t want to spend $500+.

Further Reading: REP AB-5200 Review

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Heavy-duty 11-gauge steel construction
  • 1,000 lb weight capacity
  • Easy-to-use ladder design
  • 9 back and 3 seat adjustments
  • Handle and wheel for easy portability
  • Vertical storage
  • Excellent value

Cons

  • Seat hinge is higher than most
  • No color options
  • Some people may miss a 20-degree angle

Final Thoughts

The Titan Series Adjustable Bench exceeded my expectations. Its heavy-duty design is similar to higher-priced benches, and its performance is virtually just as good.

I love the easy-to-use ladder system, and the dimensions are excellent for all user heights.

The seat hinge is higher than others, and you’ll feel it if you slide into the gap, but it’s avoidable by only using the back pad.

Overall, this is a fantastic value option for those looking for a beefy flat/incline bench.

Titan Series Adjustable Bench Rating

Build Quality: 9.2/10

Dimensions: 9.3/10

Versatility: 9.2/10

Storage & Mobility: 9.2/10

Aesthetics: 9.1/10

Value: 9.5/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.2/10

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.
Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.

Latest Articles

Beyond Power Voltra 1 Review: Impressive Tech & Performance

Quick Overview The Beyond Power Voltra 1 is a unique, portable, high-quality cable attachment with up to 200...

Shogun NORD-EX Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Shogun NORD-EX is a posterior chain machine that allows for Nordic curls and back extensions....

REP PR-5000 Power Rack Review (2024)

Quick Overview The REP PR-5000 is a highly configurable power rack with excellent specs for home and commercial...