HomeReviewsXebex XT3 Sled Review ()

Xebex XT3 Sled Review (2024)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

The Xebex XT3 is a high-quality training sled with adjustable magnetic resistance and excellent features. The unique handle design allows for multiple hand positions and a challenging wheelbarrow option. This is the first sled of its kind to include an optional monitor to track stats and performance. The XT3 can be used for pushing or pulling movements and stores easily.

Overall Rating: 9.3/10

Build Quality: 9.5/10

Handles: 9.4/10

Monitor: 9.3/10

Performance: 9.2/10

Footprint: 9.5/10

Aesthetics: 8.9/10

Value: 9.2/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Someone looking for a variable resistance training sled
  • Those who want to track their performance
  • Someone who wants to take advantage of unique handle variations
  • Anyone who doesn’t want to have to load plates onto a sled

Things to Consider

  • Chain drives may require more maintenance over time
  • More expensive than plate-loaded sleds

The Xebex XT3 is a piece that caught my eye possibly more than any other equipment in 2022.

When I first saw this sled on pre-sale, I had high hopes immediately.

It directly addresses one of my top suggestions in my review of the Torque Tank M1 with the monitor. It also adds a lot more versatility with its unique handle design, includes more levels of magnetic resistance, and a heavier frame, among other things.

Don’t get me wrong – the Torque M1 is a high-quality and capable sled…

But the XT3, at least on paper, looked like it could be better.

And in my experience, I think it is better in several ways.

However, this sled isn’t without its shortcomings, which I’ll address below.

In this review, we’ll look at everything this sled has to offer. We’ll look at its features, how to use it, what I like, and what I don’t like.

By the end, you should be able to tell if it’s right for you.

Let’s dig in.

Xebex XT3 Sled
Xebex XT3 Sled
The Xebex XT3 Sled is a unique wheeled sled with notable features including magnetic resistance, a monitor, and adjustable handles.
CHECK PRICE

Xebex XT3 Sled Review

The XT3 sled is a wheeled push-pull weight sled with several features that stand out in this space. This sled isn’t the first of its kind (XPO Trainer and Tank M1), but it has introduced some new concepts that have put the rest of the market on notice. I’ll detail them all below.

The XT3 uses magnetic resistance and plate-loaded resistance (at times) while allowing for bi-directional movement. With a unique handle system on the back, you can train various pushes at different angles. You can also perform lower-angle pushes with the front handle while essentially pushing the sled in reverse. In addition, there are two low attachment points to accommodate various pulls, including harness pulls, strap pulls, and more.

Xebext XT3 Sled Side Garage Gym Lab

The sled weighs 102lbs, and it’s quite economical in terms of the space it takes up. The sled measures 45″ long and 28″ wide on its wheels. However, it takes up a mere 28″ x 24″ footprint when stored vertically.

Specs

  • Footprint: 45″ x 28″ x 48″
  • Weight: 102lbs
  • Drivetrain: Chain
  • Resistance Type: Magnetic and plate-loaded
  • Max Weight: 225lbs on wheelbarrow, 385lbs on three wheels
  • Display: LCD
  • Monitor Stats: Time, Distance, Calories, Speed, Watts, RPM, Heart Rate, Intervals, Resistance Level
  • Made In: Taiwan
  • Warranty: 10 years on frame, 1 year on parts/monitor

Build Quality

Build Quality Rating: 9.5/10

The XT3 is synonymous with a tank. Its mostly metal construction is durable and heavy-duty. The chain drive is quieter than air bikes and easily accessible via the undercarriage. Any maintenance that may be required is simple, given the limited parts and easy-to-remove enclosure.

The XT3 is a very well-built sled. Constructed almost entirely out of steel, it weighs in at 102lbs, which is 35lbs heavier than the Torque M1. The only plastic components on the XT3 are the magnetic resistance adjustment lever, the monitor, and the plastic end caps for vertical storage. Unlike the Tank M1 for Torque, this sled has a metal encasing around the mechanical components. Because of that, it feels much more robust in comparison.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Front Angle - Garage Gym Lab

This sled uses a chain as the drivetrain, which is typical for these types of sleds. In air bikes, chain drives are notoriously louder than belt drives, and they generally require more maintenance over time. However, noise isn’t as much of a concern for this type of equipment because it’s not spinning nearly as fast. I’m very pleased with how quiet this chain drive is. With the all-terrain tires, the sled overall is extremely quiet, which means you can push this around your neighborhood at all times without fear of angering your neighbors.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Chain Drive - Garage Gym Lab

In terms of maintenance, there’s an inherent implication with chain drives that they will need a little more love than belt drives. This commonly includes lubricating the chain to ensure optimal operation. The underside of the XT3 consists of a steel enclosure that prevents damage to the mechanics. If you need to access the internals for inspection or maintenance, you can remove this panel by removing six screws. Furthermore, if you need to lubricate the chain, you can do so very easily since there’s an opening that provides instant access.

In general, I’m impressed with the overall quality of the XT3 – it feels very heavy-duty and well-made.

Dual Resistance

The XT3 sled uses two forms of resistance: magnetic resistance and weight resistance via a loading pin.

Magnetic resistance is created when a set of magnets surrounding a steel disc move closer or further from each other. This type of resistance is most commonly found on bikes – first popularized by Keiser, magnetic resistance has become a staple for indoor bikes like Peloton, Echelon, and more. In fact, the Xebex AirPlus Expert Bike 3.0 offers magnetic resistance (plus air resistance). The XT3 uses the same “gear shift” as the AirPlus Bike.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Magnetic Resistance - Garage Gym Lab

One of the biggest benefits of magnetic resistance is how quickly you can adjust it. By simply adjusting the lever, you can instantaneously change the resistance. While there’s no respective “weight” equivalent on each resistance level, Xebex does provide eight options that range from neutral to hard. Compare this to the Tank M1, which only includes four options, and you can see where this unit provides greater control.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Gear Shift - Garage Gym Lab

When the XT3 was first released, the top resistance didn’t feel nearly as challenging as the M1. I pointed this out in my original review, as did several other owners of the sled. Thankfully, Xebex listened to the feedback and designed a retrokit to increase the resistance on this model. Anyone who buys the XT3 now and going forward will get this new magnet pre-installed.

The updated system includes 12 magnets vs. 8 and provides up to a 50% increase in resistance. If you own the earlier model and are looking to add the new magnets, installation is very straightforward. It took me about 25 minutes and the results were immediate.

Ultimately, even with the increased resistance, this sled (and others like it) isn’t going to beat a prowler-style sled in terms of max load and resistance. I think it shines in longer distance/duration pushes and pulls more than max effort, but the new kit is a big improvement.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Weight Peg - Garage Gym Lab

The second form of resistance is plate-loaded, but there’s a caveat. As we know, the XT3 is a sled on wheels. When stacking plates on the 12″ vertical post, it does little to create extra resistance as it would on a sled without wheels. The primary purpose of the plate peg is to ensure consistent force to the ground for a smooth experience.

That said, the weight post does create physical resistance when using the sled for wheelbarrow pushes. The height of this post is 5.5″ taller than the M1, and can accommodate a max load of 385lbs when using all three wheels. In wheelbarrow mode, the max weight is lower at 225lbs because of the single-wheel support.

Quick Tip

The resistance on the XT3 sled is created in the front wheel. When using the sled, keep traction to the ground via plates to ensure smooth movement and accurate resistance.

Handles

Handles Rating: 9.4/10

The XT3 handles are unique and ultra-functional. In addition to using them as traditional handles, you can configure them to perform wheelbarrow pushes. I wish the handles were more heavily textured for grip purposes, but their utility is best-in-class. They can also be conveniently stored on the sled for space savings.

One of the best features of the XT3 sled from Xebex is the multi-purpose handles. These J-shaped handles can be oriented in two different directions, which allows for a lot of versatility.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Tall Handles - Garage Gym Lab

When facing upright, the tall side stands closest to you, which gives you 25″ of room to place your hands. I really like this about the XT3 because you’re not limited to dedicated hand grips. You can perform pushes from a low-leverage position, a high-leverage position, and everywhere in between.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Wheelbarrow Side - Garage Gym Lab

The other side of the handles, the short side, was intentionally designed to allow for a unique movement with this sled: wheelbarrow pushes. I’ll detail this movement in the performance section below, but it’s one of my favorite things about this sled overall. The short side allows you to stand inside the handles without a second long side interfering with your arms.

Additionally, this handle design lets you press your shoulders into the tall side, grab the short side with your hands, and perform a driving push. Again, I’ll outline this movement in more detail below, but it’s made possible through this unique “tri-handle” Xebex created.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Smooth Surface - Garage Gym Lab

The one downside to these handles is that they have a pretty smooth finish that doesn’t provide much texture. If you sweat a lot, I could see this being a possible issue when pushing the sled. It’s much more magnified, however, on wheelbarrow pushes. While the handles take chalk reasonably well for a smooth finish, I prefer something more textured, like a heavy powder coat.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Color Coded Handles - Garage Gym Lab

The handles themselves are color-coded, so you know where to place them. It’s straightforward: red on red, white on white. When placed in the low position for wheelbarrows, there are two small detent pins to keep the handles from sliding out. In the upright position, however, it relies only on gravity. This was a suggestion I had on the Torque M1, and while the XT3 handles don’t feel as easy to pull out, I would like to see a similar detent pin option for security. It would also make it easier to turn the sled around since you could pull directly up on the handles and pivot off the front tire. To be fair, though, pivoting off the back tires is easy enough.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Standing - Garage Gym Lab

Lastly, the handles can be placed into the inside horizontal tubes when you stand the XT3 vertically for compact storage. Overall, major kudos to Xebex on these handles – they’re unique, multi-functional, and well-designed.

Monitor

Monitor Rating: 9.3/10

By including a monitor on the XT3, Xebex has created something nobody else currently offers. This is a great feature that tracks the most important stats, including distance, speed, calories, and more. It’s legible, well laid out, and you can swivel it depending on which side of the sled you’re on. However, it’s not included in the base model and costs extra.

Xebex very smartly added an optional monitor to the XT3 sled, which I felt was a missed opportunity on the Torque M1. This monitor is very similar to traditional erg monitors in terms of stats and functionality.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Monitor - Garage Gym Lab

It reads out the following:

  • Time (includes target program)
  • Distance (includes target program)
  • Calories (includes target program)
  • Speed (mph or kph)
  • Watts
  • RPM
  • Heart Rate (compatible with third-party heart monitors via Bluetooth or ANT+)
  • Intervals (custom or pre-programmed)
  • Resistance Level (1-8 magnetic resistance)
Xebext XT3 Sled - Monitor Buttons - Garage Gym Lab

The monitor consists of a backlit LCD measuring 3.75″ x 4.85″ – it’s nicely laid out and very legible in virtually all lighting scenarios. The button layout is straightforward, although the vertical alignment is pretty tight. This is nitpicky, but perhaps some more space between the two rows would look less cluttered and reduce the chance of hitting the wrong button.

Another nice feature of this monitor is its compatibility with third-party apps. It’s possible to link this up with heart rate monitors like Polar, and you can also track performance history with external programs.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Monitor Swivel - Garage Gym Lab

Lastly, the monitor can spin 180 degrees to face you whether you’re pushing the sled from the front or the back. The display angle can also be adjusted – all of which can be tightened with an Allen key.

Again, kudos to Xebex for introducing a monitor on this sled – it’s an excellent feature. It is, however, an optional feature that costs extra. That said, if you buy this sled, I think it’s worth it for what you get in terms of stat tracking. Consider also that if you don’t purchase the monitor, you will have exposed wires with nothing to do with them. I would like to see Xebex modify this wire access to hide the wire when a monitor isn’t purchased.

XT3 Sled Performance

Performance Rating: 9.2/10

The XT3 is a solid-performing sled, especially with the multiple resistance levels and improved magnetron. I love the wheelbarrow mode, in particular. The pulling hooks are an area of improvement, however. Their height can cause the front wheel to come off the ground during explosive pulls.

Performance-wise, the XT3 is a strong performer in this class, largely due to its features that no other sled currently on the market can match.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Standard Push - Garage Gym Lab

Like the XPO and M1 sleds, the XT3 provides progressive resistance, meaning the harder you push or pull, the harder/more resistant it becomes. The operation itself is smooth – even when suddenly changing the magnetic resistance level, there’s no sudden or jerky motion. This type of progressive resistance (not just the XT3) is nice because it gives you more control over the difficulty/intensity. In other words, it’s not just the level of magnetic or plate resistance – you also have to add a level of effort into the equation. Together, they create the overall intensity.

My two favorite movements on the XT3 have been the two that are unique to this sled: the wheelbarrow push and the “X-Drive.”

Xebext XT3 Sled - Wheelbarrow - Garage Gym Lab

Starting with the wheelbarrow push, this was the one I was most excited to try. I love this movement – it’s challenging, and it’s fun. With the handles sitting low on the frame in this position, it encourages a proper hip hinge to start. Once fully extended, you feel the combination of the plate weight and magnetic resistance. The 2″ (51mm) diameter handle taxes your grip, your traps and lats get blown up, and your core must stay rigid to perform the carry. You may have heard the term “farm strength” or some version of it – if you want to be farm strong, load up the XT3 and wheel around the block a few times a week (cowboy hat is optional).

Xebext XT3 Sled - X Drive - Garage Gym Lab

The “X-Drive,” as Xebex calls it, is another favorite that takes advantage of the unique handles on the XT3. By pressing your shoulders into the taller handles and using your hands on the shorter handles, you can drive yourself into the sled and push hard through the legs. I especially like this one with the magnetic resistance turned up higher and with some uphill terrain. I feel this movement benefited the most from the increased resistance in the new magnetron.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Front Tow Straps - Garage Gym Lab

In experimenting with pulling this sled from the front, I have mixed feelings. On one hand, you get more range of motion since you’re starting lower, which can have a positive carryover to strength. On the other hand, a lower position means it’s easier to pull up instead of out. Since the resistance is created in the front wheel, if the upward angle is steep and powerful enough, you’ll lift the front wheel off the ground and lose resistance (at least temporarily). This is an area where I think the higher attachment point on the M1 is better. Pulling more linearly with a harness feels great, however.

The XT3 also offers tow hooks on the back at the same height, but it’s more grounded with the additional plate weight. While the front tire remains in better contact, the sled tends to skid more when pulling in this direction, resulting in less resistance. This is true with other sleds as well, as I noted in my M1 video review in 2020.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Low Push - Garage Gym Lab
Notice the monitor has been reversed to display from the front position

Overall, I’m pleased with the performance of the XT3, especially with its unique movement options. However, I think there’s an opportunity to improve the front pull by increasing the height of the hooks.

Aesthetics

Rating: 8.9/10

Overall, this sled looks nice with its shape, matte black powder coat, etc. However, I’m not a big fan of all the stickers. I think they somewhat detract from the aesthetic, and I’m concerned with how they will look over time. Selective laser cutouts would be a nice improvement, in my opinion.

Aesthetically, the XT3 is a bit of a mixed bag for me. On the one hand, it’s just an impressive-looking machine. The design, the shape, the “gear shift,” etc… all positively strike the eye.

On the other hand, however, it has an abundance of stickers – 15 stickers, to be exact. Consider me a minimalist when it comes to stickers on gym equipment. I understand the need to brand the equipment, and I’m fully on board with it, but some of these stickers feel like they’re unnecessarily filling dead space.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Stickers - Garage Gym Lab

In addition to sticker overkill (my opinion, of course), I have to question how it will look over time, especially in high-touch areas like the handle identifiers. I feel like there’s a better way to identify the appropriate handle-to-tube connections (e.g., painted ends). With the stickers, as soon as you misalign the handle and hit the post, you will start damaging the sticker. Eventually, I have to think it will start peeling away or generally looking pretty rough.

Am I crazy for being this anti-sticker?

Lastly, my unit did arrive with a few scuffs in the powder coat – nothing major, but it’s something to note. Considering how well the box was packaged, I believe the damage existed before boxing. One other reviewer mentioned the same, so this may be a QC opportunity for Xebex.

XT3 Sled Delivery & Assembly

The XT3 ships via FedEx in a single box. My box arrived in excellent condition, and the packaging was nicely done overall. The assembly of the sled was straightforward – the instructions were very legible and, frankly, much better than many pieces of cardio equipment I’ve assembled in the past.

Xebext XT3 Sled - Assembly - Garage Gym Lab

The most challenging part of the build is attaching the handle bracket. This piece uses eight bolts, but you can never freely spin the Allen key because of the handle posts. In other words, be prepared for a lot of quarter-to-half turns to tighten. Around halfway through, I ended up standing the sled vertically on the front tire and resting the bracket on my shoulder while finishing the final turns. This was easier, and it felt better on my back since I wasn’t constantly bent over.

From there, the build was simple. It took me about 30 minutes to put it together by myself, which included the unboxing and a few quick breaks to watch golf.

Xebex XT3 Sled vs. Torque Tank M1

Torque Tank M1
Torque Tank M1

The Torque Tank M1 was the first wheeled sled to add magnetic resistance. It's a great sled with solid overall resistance, but it lacks some of the features of the Xebex XT3.

Check Price at Torque Video Review

These two sleds are very similar in that they offer magnetic resistance and have the same overall shape, footprint, three-wheeled design, etc… I’ve owned the Tank M1 since it was released – it’s a very nice sled – but it lacks several of the features that make the XT3 so compelling.

If you watch my video of the M1, you’ll see where I suggested it should include a monitor to track performance. The XT3 has made one available and, as mentioned above, it’s quite good. That in and of itself is one reason to go with the XT3 over the M1.

I also mentioned that, while I like the handle design of the M1, the handles themselves are too easy to pull off the base. Great for storage, but not all that great when using the sled. The XT3’s handles are also fairly easy to pull out from the top, but it’s a much more versatile handle system overall. As shown above, you can do numerous things with the handles on the XT3, which is another win in this comparison.

As mentioned above, both sleds have front hooks to perform various pulls. The M1 has a higher attachment point than the XT3 on the front. While I like the bigger range of motion and time under tension that the XT3 provides, the lower attachment point can cause the front tire to lift off the ground easier than the M1 when performing more explosive pulls. Harness pulls feel great on both.

The XT3 does offer rear hooks, but the resistance doesn’t feel the same when pulling from the back. It does stay more grounded, however, which is still an improvement over explosive pulls from the front.

Xebext XT3 Sled vs. Torque Tank M1 - Garage Gym Lab

Lastly, the M1 has four magnetic resistance levels vs. eight on the XT3. With the new magnet system on the XT3, the top-level resistance is comparable, if not slightly higher. As before, the Xebex unit still provides twice as much resistance control.

Both sleds offer weight posts, although the XT3 is 5.5″ longer, which allows you to load up to 385lbs. To be fair, however, the weight posts don’t make much difference unless you’re performing wheelbarrow pushes, which the Tank M1 doesn’t allow. Both sleds have high-quality all-terrain tires, and both utilize a chain drive.

In terms of price, the XT3 sled without the monitor is the same price as the M1. If you add the monitor to the XT3, it becomes more expensive by about $110. This doesn’t include sales, which Get RX’d commonly offers. For instance, right now the standard XT3 is $60 less than the M1 and with the monitor, it’s $30 more expensive.

Ultimately, the XT3 has more features, performance tracking, and a more rugged frame than the M1. The M1, on the other hand, stays more grounded on front-pulling movements. If you plan to perform a lot of explosive pulls, the M1 will likely appeal more to you. Otherwise, I think the XT3 is the better choice.

Xebex XT3 Sled vs. Armored Fit XPO Trainer 2

Armored Fit XPO Trainer
Armored Fit XPO Trainer

The Armored Fit XPO Trainer 2 was the first wheeled sled of its kind. It's a well-made sled, but it doesn't offer the same features as the Xebex XT3 or Torque M1.

Check Price at Amazon Check Price at Rogue

Armored Fit is credited with originally creating the wheeled sled. Its XPO Sled has been on the market for years, and it’s earned a solid reputation in that time.

While it offers progressive resistance like the Xebex XT3 and M1 from Torque, the XPO is a much more basic sled. It doesn’t offer magnetic resistance, but it does get harder the harder you push.

The XPO Trainer includes two tall handles that provide plenty of space for your hands. They’re also removable for storage purposes. This sled doesn’t offer a front handle system, nor does it have hooks on the front for pulling movements.

The XPO is much more of a push sled than anything. It does include a weight post, but that’s only to keep friction to the ground, similar to others.

Priced at $699, it’s cheaper than both the XT3 and the M1, but it pales in comparison when looking at features. If you’re looking for the most basic wheeled sled and want to save some money, the XPO Trainer 2 is a solid option. Otherwise, the other two contenders, especially the XT3, are better buys.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Extremely versatile sled with a unique handle system
  • The sled can be used for pushes, pulls, and wheelbarrow movements
  • Eight levels of magnetic resistance provide more control over intensity
  • Great monitor with swivel body and articulating screen
  • 102-lb frame made entirely of steel creates a durable and heavy-duty sled
  • The tall weight post allows up to 385lbs
  • All-terrain tires allow the sled to be used across many surfaces
  • Very quiet operation

Cons

  • The chain drive, while not to the level of air bikes, may require maintenance over time
  • Smooth handles don’t provide as much texture as a heavy powder coat
  • In my opinion, the sled has too many stickers

Final Thoughts

Xebext XT3 Sled - Front - Garage Gym Lab

Overall, the Xebex XT3 is a very solid wheeled sled. The monitor, the extra levels of resistance, and the more versatile handle design are all excellent features.

I’m happy that Xebex increased the resistance with a new magnet system because the previous model was underwhelming in the highest setting.

Factoring in price and frequent sales from Get RX’d, I think the XT3 represents a strong value overall.

Xebex XT3 Sled Rating

Build Quality: 9.5/10

Handles: 9.4/10

Monitor: 9.3/10

Performance: 9.2/10

Footprint: 9.5/10

Aesthetics: 8.9/10

Value: 9.2/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.3/10

The Xebex XT3 Sled is very solid push/pull sled with unique features that include magnetic resistance, adjustable handles, and a monitor. While there are some areas I would like to see improved, I think it’s one of, if not the best currently on the market.

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.
Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.

Latest Articles

Beyond Power Voltra 1 Review: Impressive Tech & Performance

Quick Overview The Beyond Power Voltra 1 is a unique, portable, high-quality cable attachment with up to 200...

Shogun NORD-EX Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Shogun NORD-EX is a posterior chain machine that allows for Nordic curls and back extensions....

REP PR-5000 Power Rack Review (2024)

Quick Overview The REP PR-5000 is a highly configurable power rack with excellent specs for home and commercial...