HomeReviewsPowerBlock Adjustable Dumbbells Review ()

PowerBlock Adjustable Dumbbells Review (2024)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

PowerBlock dumbbells are some of the fastest and most durable adjustable dumbbells for your home gym. They’re available in several models at various price points and come with a 5-year warranty. They can expand to 90+ lbs, and their unique shape has a few notable benefits.

Overall Rating: 9.1/10

Design: 8.8/10

Build Quality: 9.4/10

Speed: 9.5/10

Weight Options: 9.4/10

Aesthetics: 8.7/10

Price: 9.0/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Someone looking to save space in their gym
  • Those who want fast adjustments
  • Anyone who values durability and a strong track record

Things to Consider

  • Untraditional look and feel
  • Rectangular shape limits some exercises
  • Doesn’t include a stand

PowerBlocks are arguably the most iconic adjustable dumbbells on the market. They’ve been around for decades and have a unique look that stands out among others.

Their space-saving design is ideal for home gyms, and their patented locking system is excellent for those looking for speedy adjustments.

PowerBlocks offer several models based on materials, weight adjustments, budget, and more.

Don’t worry – I’ll cover them all.

Regardless of the model, you can rest easy knowing they’re some of the most durable adjustable dumbbells you can buy.

They’ve… dare I say it… been around the block.

That said, PowerBlocks do have some drawbacks that some users simply won’t like.

In this review, I’ll explain everything you need to know about PowerBlock dumbbells. I’ll share the pros and cons and compare them to other popular options, including NÜOBELLs and Ironmasters.

Let’s dig in.

Powerblock Adjustable Dumbbells

PowerBlock Adjustable Dumbbells

When it comes to building a home gym, I’m a big advocate for adjustable dumbbells because of their cost and space efficiencies. Most home gym owners don’t have the room to dedicate to a full dumbbell rack for up to 100 lbs.

PowerBlocks offer a much more compact footprint while still providing up to 90 lbs of resistance in consumer models and a whopping 175 lbs in their commercial version.

For example, the PowerBlock Elite, Pro, and Sport EXP models replace up to 28 pairs of traditional fixed dumbbells.

While there are many adjustable dumbbells on the market, not all of them are as fast (or as durable) as the PowerBlocks.

I love how quickly I can adjust the weight and appreciate the simple pin system.

These two major positives aside, the rectangular shape takes some getting used to, and some never will. It provides an unconventional experience that, while balanced and effective, feels a little awkward at first. It also limits some functionality, which I’ll detail later.

PowerBlock Dumbbells
PowerBlock Adjustable Dumbbells
PowerBlocks are high-quality, durable, and ultra-fast adjustable dumbbells. They're available in several models at nearly every budget and come with a 5-year warranty.
Check Price at PowerBlock Check Price at Amazon

Compare PowerBlock Dumbbells

I’ve owned and used PowerBlock dumbbells since the mid-2000s, including the Elite, Pro, and Commercial series. While I have extensive experience with each of them, they largely operate in the same way, so this will be an all-encompassing review.

You can use the table below to get a baseline understanding of the main differences, and I’ll fill in the gaps in the following sections.

I’ve listed them in order of my recommendations for most people.

As a note, PowerBlocks come in expandable (EXP) and non-expandable models – I grouped them accordingly in the table.

Scroll Right to See More

PowerBlock Elite EXP
PowerBlock Elite USA Table Image
See More
PowerBlock Pro EXP
PowerBlock Pro EXP Table Image
See More
PowerBlock Sport EXP
PowerBlock Sport EXP Table Image
See More
PowerBlock Commercial
PowerBlock Commercial Table Image
See More
PowerBlock Pro 50
PowerBlock Pro 50 Table Image
See More
PowerBlock Pro 32
PowerBlock Pro 32 Table Image
See More
PowerBlock Sport 50
PowerBlock Sport 50 Table Image
See More
PowerBlock Sport 24
PowerBlock Sport 24 Table Image
See More
Price$419+$509+$409+$949+$499$339$399$199
Dimensions11.75”L x 6”W x 6”H @50lbs
14”L x 6”W x 6”H @70lbs
16.25”L x 6”W x 6”H @90lbs
12.5”L x 7”W x 7.25”H @50lbs
14.75”L x 7”W x 7.25”H @70lbs
17”L x 7”W x 7.25”H @90lbs
12″L x 6.5″W x 6.5″H @ 50lbs
14″L x 6.5″W x 6.5″H @ 70lbs
16”L x 6.5”W x 6.5”H @90lbs
12.5″ L x 7″ W x 7.25″ H @50lbs
17″ L x 7″ W x 7.25″ H @90lbs
17″ L x 8.5″ W x 9″ H @125lbs
13”L x 7”W x 7.25”H12”L x 5.75”W x 5.5”H12”L x 6.5”W x 6.5”H10.5”L x 5.35”W x 5”H
ExpandableYesYesYesYes on 125lb SetNoNoNoNo
Max Weight90 lbs90 lbs90 lbs175 lbs50 lbs32 lbs50 lbs24 lbs
Space SavingsUp to 28 Pairs of DBsUp to 28 Pairs of DBsUp to 28 Pairs of DBsUp to 22 Pairs of DBs19 Pairs of DBs8 Pairs of DBs19 Pairs of DBs8 Pairs of DBs
Weight Increments2.5 or 5 lbs2.5 or 5 lbs2.5 or 5 lbs5 or 7.5 lbs2.5 lbs4 lbs5 lbs3 lbs
Handle TypeStraight TPR (33mm)Contoured TPR (38mm)Contoured TPR (38mm)Straight KnurledContoured TPR (38mm)Contoured TPR (30mm)Contoured TPR (38mm)Contoured TPR (30mm)
Weight MaterialBlack SteelUrethane over SteelGray SteelUrethane over SteelUrethane over SteelUrethane over SteelGray SteelGray Steel
Warranty5 Years (Home Use)5 Years (Home Use)5 Years (Home Use)1 Year (Commercial Use)5 Years (Home Use)5 Years (Home Use)5 Years (Home Use)5 Years (Home Use)

PowerBlock Elite Series

The Elite series offers the best value in the PowerBlock lineup, in my opinion. While the Sport line is less expensive, the Elite offers better specs and is more compact. The square-plate profile is true to the classic PB design and makes it the most space-friendly expandable option.

PowerBlock Elite Series Adjustable Dumbbells

Unlike others in the lineup, the Elite series is only available in an expandable version, which you can take up to 90 lbs in 5 lb increments. It also includes a straight handle, which I prefer over the contoured handles in other consumer models.

The full-color pin system is easier to identify than others, and I personally like the black powder coat more than the gray Sport. This series also includes padded wrist support, which is unique to the Elite.

The Elite series is also the only PowerBlock dumbbell made in the USA.

PowerBlock Pro Series

While I believe the Elite Series is the best for most people, the Pro Series is the best overall (among consumer models). The Pro is available in an expandable set up to 90 lbs or in non-expandable sets of 32 and 50 lbs. Unless you don’t need anything over 32 lbs, I recommend the expandable set since it starts at 5-50 lbs and is only marginally more expensive than the Pro 50.

PowerBlock Pro Adjustable Dumbbells

A nice feature of the Pro Series is that the plates are coated in urethane, which is a durable and odorless protective coating. Although it has a contoured handle as standard, you can upgrade to a straight knurled handle from PowerBlock or third-party manufacturers.

Another nice benefit of the Pro Series is that it’s compatible with other PowerBlock systems, including their curl bar and straight bar.

PowerBlock Sport Series

The Sport Series is PowerBlock’s most economically-priced option and is available in expandable and non-expandable models. Like the others, the EXP version of the Sport series can expand up to 90 lbs, but the base non-EXP is only 24 lbs. Unless you’re on a big budget and don’t plan on lifting more than 24 lbs, I recommend the Sport EXP in this series.

PowerBlock Sport Adjustable Dumbbells

The Sports are most similar to the Elite Series in that they use steel plates, but they’re more rounded and are slightly larger overall. They also have a gray powder coat instead of black and use non-colored pins (except for the Sport 24).

Lastly, unlike Elite, the Sport Series is not made in the USA.

PowerBlock Commercial Series

If you want the absolute best, look no further than the PowerBlock Commercial Series. You’ll mostly find these in facilities like sports weight rooms where space is at a premium and you’re training many athletes at once. As a commercial product, these are more durable, and you can load them heavier.

PowerBlock Commercial Pro Adjustable Dumbbells

Unlike the consumer models that are expandable up to 90 lbs, the commercial series can expand up to 175 lbs. To achieve that, you need to buy the Commercial Pro 125, which is the only expandable version in this lineup. For instance, I own the Commercial Pro 90s, which cannot be expanded beyond that. And I’m OK with that because the 125s can be a bit unwieldy.

This line includes more premium materials, such as a straight knurled handle, urethane-coated plates, and a higher-quality Zytel pin. They also come standard with a Pro Rack Stand for storage, which the consumer models don’t. Unsurprisingly, these are more expensive. For example, the Commercial Pro 90’s are over $1,000 more expensive than the regular Pro 90’s.

Design

PowerBlocks have the most unique design of any adjustable dumbbell out there. The shape, adjustment mechanism, and handle location each have standout qualities that I’ll detail in the following section.

Shape & Dimensions

PowerBlocks have an uncommon rectangular shape with a square plate profile. Some models have a rounded edge on the top of the plate, but all are flat on the bottom. The biggest benefit of having a square bottom is there is no risk of your dumbbells rolling away. This can make a big difference if you’re in a garage with a sloped floor.

PowerBlocks Adjustable Dumbbells

Another distinct Powerblock feature is the “cage” (i.e., where you place your hand). This is where most people get tripped up with this system since it’s quite different than others. The first question people ask is if it’s balanced. Since the handle is positioned through the dumbbell’s center of mass, it is indeed well-balanced.

The second question people ask is if it’s awkward or uncomfortable. It’s a little weird at first and may feel claustrophobic for some. However, some models have more space. For example, the Elite and Commercial Pro 125 Series have padded wrist supports at the top, creating a tighter space.

PowerBlock Handle Cage

I haven’t personally experienced discomfort, but I can see where it could be a mental barrier for some. The Pro, Sport, and other Commercial options have a more open top, so I recommend these if you’re bothered by the tighter enclosure.

Dimensionally, PowerBlocks are among the most compact adjustable dumbbells. While each model is a bit different, most base sets are around 12″ long and between 6-7.5″ tall and wide.

Weight Selector

Most adjustable dumbbells are adjusted with speed dials or individually-loaded plates. However, PowerBlocks use a side-loaded pin system that’s both easy and fast. Each pin is made of a flexible plastic compound with two internal magnets.

PowerBlock Adjustment Pin

To make an adjustment, all you have to do is pull the pin out and align the two prongs around the weight you want. Depending on which model you buy, the side rail will be color-coded to match the top of the handle or include a weight call-out.

When you pull the pin out, you don’t have to worry about misplacing it because it’s tethered to the top rail. Then, when you slide the pin in, the magnets will engage, keeping it in place during your workout.

PowerBlock Selector Pin Magnets

It’s a very simple and effective system, but because it’s flexible, you can sometimes misalign the prongs if you’re going too fast. For instance, you may select 50 lbs on the left side of the pin and only 40 lbs on the right. Thankfully, it’s easily noticed and quick to fix.

Weight Increments

PowerBlocks have 10 lb weight jumps when using the side selector, but you can get smaller increments in one of two ways:

  1. Use Adder Weights: Consumer PowerBlocks come with two 2.5 lb cylindrical steel weights for each handle. The weight referenced on the handle assumes both adder weights are attached. If you’re using one or none, you can subtract 2.5 or 5 lbs from the number to get your actual weight. To install or remove them, you pull a lever on the handle to unlock the adder weights. When you’re ready, place the handle back in the stack and let the auto-lock feature secure everything for you.
  2. Use a Different Handle: Some commercial models come with an extra handle set for smaller adjustments. For example, my Commercial Pro 90’s have a 10 lb handle that results 10 lb increments and a 5 lb handle that gets me 5 lb jumps. The heavier Commercial Pro 125’s have 12.5 and 20 lb handles for 7.5 lb increments. Commercial models do not use adder weights.
PowerBlock Handle Options

Weight Plates & Expansion Sets

One of the best features of the PowerBlocks is that they’re expandable. As your strength progresses, so too can your maximum dumbbells weights. As mentioned above, I recommend most people purchase expandable models for this reason.

Adjusting PowerBlock Dumbbells

A core design of PowerBlocks is their nested weight plate structure. As you change the weight, the handle pulls only the appropriate number of plates, leaving the heavier ones behind.

When you buy an expansion set, you’re effectively purchasing a new base to nest into. PowerBlock refers to these as stages. Stage 1 is the base set, Stage 2 is 50-70 lbs, and Stage 3 is 70-90 lbs.

Keep in mind that you’re increasing the length with each stage, so your dumbbell’s dimensions will change as you move up. The Pro EXP is the longest consumer model at 17″ (maxed out to 90 lbs), but the Commercial Pro 125 gets up to nearly 21.”

PowerBlock Expansion Sets

The plates themselves are either powder-coated steel (Elite/Sport) or urethane-coated steel (Pro/Commercial). I prefer urethane for its increased durability and quieter sound. Something to consider is that this setup requires some tolerances between plates. Therefore, you may hear or feel some plate rattle on certain movements.

Handles & Upgrades

PowerBlocks come in three handle varieties:

  1. Contoured TPR – ‘TPR’ stands for Thermoplastic Rubber, which creates a durable and reasonably grippy surface. You’ll find the contoured TPR on PowerBlock Pro and Sport Series in 30 or 38mm diameters.
  2. Straight TPR – The Elite series also uses thermoplastic rubber but in a straight handle, which I generally prefer. It also comes in a more traditional 33mm diameter.
  3. Straight Knurled – The Commercial series comes standard with a straight knurled steel handle except for the Commercial Pro 32, which has a contoured TPR handle.
PowerBlocks Handle

I personally prefer a straight handle over a contoured one. I appreciate the traditional feel and find it’s generally more comfortable. The TPR feels OK, but it’s one of my least favorite features of the Powerblock line. It can get a little slick when you start sweating, and the grip just isn’t as good as knurled steel.

Thankfully, PowerBlock and third-party companies like JD Gym Equipped and Bare Steel Equipment sell knurled replacement handles. These are even compatible with models that come with contoured handles as standard. I highly recommend these if you want to maximize grip and performance.

Read more: Comparing Adjustable vs Fixed Dumbbells

Build Quality

One of the biggest questions and concerns of people looking to buy adjustable dumbbells is their durability. Some are good, some are great, and some are downright bad. I would firmly put PowerBlocks in the ‘great’ category.

PowerBlock Build Quality

These dumbbells use high-quality materials and are mostly made of steel. There are minimal moving parts, and those that are don’t have intricate gears or tiny parts that can break. The only functional plastic component (the selector pin) is intentionally built to be flexible to absorb force.

In my experience, I have never had a single issue with PowerBlock’s durability. Although I make a point not to drop dumbbells, I’ve thoroughly drop-tested several PowerBlock models, and they held up great. The Pro and Commercial models are especially impressive with their flexible plate design.

Storing PowerBlocks

One of the best qualities of PowerBlocks is that they’re self-contained and don’t require any special cradles to make adjustments. You can easily store these on the floor and be totally fine.

PowerBlock Stand

That said, elevating adjustable dumbbells is quite helpful, especially when lifting heavy. PowerBlocks offers several space-friendly stand options, depending on which dumbbell model you choose.

The one I recommend most is the Column Stand, which accommodates the Elite, Pro, and Sport Series. It’s heavy-duty, made in the USA, and has a clever center section for storing your adder weights.

If you buy the Commercial Series, remember that a Pro Stand is included automatically. Otherwise, you have to purchase separately.

Further reading: Home Gym Dumbbell Racks

My Experience with Powerblock Dumbbells

My overall experience with PowerBlocks has been very positive. I tried my first pair in 2009 after college and have owned multiple sets since. The speed of the dumbbells is what initially drew me in – they were easily the fastest at the time – and while you can buy from dozens of quick-change options today, PowerBlocks remain one of the easiest to use.

The shape definitely created a unique and somewhat awkward experience at first. I felt like I was putting my hands in a toaster, and it frankly took a few sessions to understand the range of motion and best exercises.

Dumbbell Rows with PowerBlocks

But once I got it down, I appreciated the design. The square heads offer inherent benefits that make some movements better than traditional dumbbells. For example, I love performing push-ups-to-rows since I can do them with a neutral grip without worrying about them rolling. The large, flat ends are also comfortable when resting the dumbbells on your legs in preparation for a lift.

I love PowerBlocks for all pulling movements, including row variations, DB RDLs, etc. I also like them for most pushing and bodybuilding movements, but dynamic exercises aren’t as good because of the handle cage. If you perform a lot of dumbbell snatches, for instance, you’ll likely want something different.

Dumbbell Press with PowerBlocks

Some exercises I love, like goblet squats and dumbbell pullovers, aren’t possible with PowerBlocks. Having an alternate option with an open design or a kettlebell are two great solutions. If neither of those work for your budget/space and you require those movements, I recommend something like Ironmasters or NÜOBELLs instead.

Ultimately, there are a few limitations to the unique design of these dumbbells. However, they won’t affect everyone or every training style. In my experience, the benefits far outweigh these limitations, but understanding how you plan to use them will tell you if they’ll fit your needs.

Further Reading: Best Home Gym Dumbbells

Ordering PowerBlocks

Ordering PowerBlocks is a fairly seamless process, but it can get confusing with the different specs and expansions. I recommend most people buy directly from PowerBlock, but they have a full Amazon shop if you have an Amazon credit card, gift card, etc. There are numerous other authorized dealers as well, including Rogue Fitness, Dick’s Sporting Goods, and more.

I like the direct PowerBlock experience because they put the expansion sets directly on the product page, making it clear what you need to build the set to your needs. Orders from Powerblock.com also ship for free to the lower 48 in the US.

Warranty

PowerBlocks carry one of the best warranties among adjustable dumbbells. Their warranty covers material defects or workmanship on the weight plates, side rails, handle assembly, and selector pins for five years.

PowerBlock Top View

If any of those materials crack or break, PowerBlock will repair or replace them at no cost to you. However, it does not cover normal wear and tear or abuse/misuse of the product, which includes dropping the PowerBlocks from higher than 12.”

Remember to register your warranty as soon as you receive your dumbbells. This includes proof of purchase and only applies to PowerBlock and authorized dealers. Warranties are also not transferrable.

User Reviews

PowerBlocks have a great reputation among owners and are some of the most positively reviewed adjustable dumbbells you’ll find. Users love their speed, size, and durability. As you may have guessed already, the biggest source of criticism is the shape, range of motion, and exercise limitations.

PowerBlock Adjustable Dumbbells vs. NÜOBELL Adjustable Dumbbells

PowerBlock Elite
NÜOBELL
Product
Product
PowerBlock Elite
NÜOBELL
Price
Price
$419+
$625+
Max Weight
Max Weight
90 lbs
80 lbs
Weight Increments
Weight Increments
2.5 or 5 lbs
5 lbs
Dimensions
Dimensions
12" L x 6" W x 6" H
15.5” L x 7.5” W x 7.5” H
Speed
Speed
Excellent
Excellent
Warranty
Warranty
5 Years
2 Years

When the NÜOBELLs launched in 2020, they took the industry by storm because they combined speed with a traditional dumbbell look and feel. I’ve owned them since Day 1, and they’re great, but they aren’t for everyone.

The biggest difference between these dumbbells is their overall design. NÜOBELLs look like traditional fixed dumbbells. They have a round profile with a straight, knurled handle. They also function more like a traditional dumbbell, allowing you to perform any movement in a full range of motion.

NÜOBELLs come in two variations: 50 lbs and 80 lbs, both with 5 lb increments. Therefore, PowerBlocks have a higher max weight load of 10 lbs on consumer models and up to 95 lbs on the commercial line.

PowerBlocks vs. NUOBELLS

As far as adjustments go, both dumbbells are exceptionally fast. NÜOBELLs use an integrated handle dial that can switch between weights in seconds. For safety, the dumbbells must be placed in the cradle before adjusting. PowerBlocks use the pin system, which is equally as fast but slightly more cumbersome since you have to line it up. However, you can adjust them anywhere without needing a special docking station.

In terms of durability, PowerBlocks are the clear winner. Although NÜOBELLs have steel plates, there are some plastic components, including the weight connectors and cradle. With care, they’re plenty durable in their own right, but PowerBlocks have stood the test of time and include more premium materials.

In addition to a better warranty, PowerBlocks can also be less expensive. For example, the Pro EXP starts around $100 less than NÜOBELLs. However, pricing can flip after adding the expansion sets. For example, with the 90 lb expansion, the Pro EXP is around $100 more than NÜOBELLs. Then again, you also get more weight.

Ultimately, both are excellent adjustable dumbbells for your home gym. If you want better durability and don’t mind the unique shape, I recommend PowerBlocks. If you value a traditional dumbbell look and feel, the NÜOBELLs are the better buy.

Further Reading: NÜOBELL Review

PowerBlock Adjustable Dumbbells vs. Ironmaster Quick-Lock Dumbbells

PowerBlock Elite
Ironmaster Quick-Lock
Product
Product
PowerBlock Elite
Ironmaster Quick-Lock
Price
Price
$419+
$519+
Max Weight
Max Weight
90 lbs
165 lbs
Weight Increments
Weight Increments
2.5 or 5 lbs
2.5 or 5 lbs
Dimensions
Dimensions
12" L x 6" W x 6" H
14.5” L x 6.7” W x 6.7” H
Speed
Speed
Excellent
Fair
Warranty
Warranty
5 Years
Lifetime

Like PowerBlocks, Ironmasters have been around for ages and have a tremendous reputation. That, however, is where the similarities end. In short, these dumbbells couldn’t be any more different.

The biggest differences between them are speed and design. Ironmasters may carry the name “Quick Lock,” but they aren’t exactly known for being quick. In fact, they’re more like a loadable dumbbell handle but with a more secure mechanism and a more comfortable end cap. To adjust the Ironmasters, you have to load individual plates to each end and then thread a heavy-duty lock.

The other big difference is that the Ironmasters have a much more traditional look and feel. While they use unconventional square plates, it’s an open dumbbell with a straight knurled handle, giving you access to a full range of exercises.

PowerBlocks vs. Ironmasters

In terms of weight, Ironmasters are the king for heavy lifters. While their base sets are 45 or 75 lbs, they have expansion options for 125 and even 165 lbs. You can also add a heavy handle kit to get in-between weights and even microplates for smaller adjustments.

Durability is good with both, but Ironmasters are bomb-proof. Their all-steel construction is very heavy-duty, which allows them to offer a lifetime warranty on their dumbbells. You can drop these from any height (I don’t recommend it) and be fine.

Pricing is comparable between these two. PowerBlock Pros with the 70 lb expansion is a few dollars more than the 75 lb Ironmasters, and both ship for free.

Again, both sets are excellent for home gyms. If you want speed and you perform super sets, drop sets, etc., I recommend going with PowerBlocks. If you’re a heavy lifter and never want to worry about durability, Ironmasters are the way to go.

Further Reading: Ironmaster Adjustable Dumbbells Review

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Ultra-fast adjustments
  • Heavier weights than most with good increments
  • One of the most compact adjustable dumbbell options
  • Squared plates eliminate rolling
  • Very durable with a strong warranty
  • Several models to choose from
  • Prices range from budget to high-end

Cons

  • Boxed design can limit range of motion and exercise selection
  • Some models include contoured, non-knurled handles (subjective con)
  • Storage stand costs extra

Final Thoughts

In my opinion, PowerBlocks are some of the best adjustable dumbbells you can buy.

Yes, their design is unique and takes some getting used to.

But the speed, quality, and durability are top-notch. Compared to budget dumbbells, these will last longer, perform better, and give you peace of mind with a more comprehensive warranty.

I continue to enjoy my PowerBlocks and recommend them to anyone who values speed and space savings.

However, there are better options for those looking for a more traditional dumbbell experience. Comparable options include the NÜOBELLs and Ironmasters, both of which I also enjoy and recommend.

PowerBlock Adjustable Dumbbells Rating

Design: 8.8/10

Build Quality: 9.4/10

Speed: 9.5/10

Weight Options: 9.4/10

Aesthetics: 8.7/10

Price: 9.0/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.1/10

FAQs

  • What is the Weight Range of PowerBlock Adjustable Dumbbells?

    PowerBock dumbbells come in expandable and non-expandable versions. Expandable consumer models can go as high as 90 lbs in 2.5 or 5 lb increments, while the commercial line can go as high as 175 lbs. I recommend most people purchase expandable versions so they can increase weight as their strength progresses.

  • Can You Drop PowerBlock Dumbbells?

    PowerBlock dumbbells are very durable, but you should still treat them with care. I don’t recommend people drop any dumbbells while training, but you can safely drop PowerBlocks from under 12″ without voiding your warranty.

  • Are Powerblock Adjustable Dumbbells Worth it?

    PowerBlocks are a cost and space-efficient dumbbell option for your home gym. If you don’t have the money or room for a full set of fixed dumbbells, these are some of the best you can buy. They’re especially good for those who want fast weight changes for super sets, drop sets, and more.

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.
Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.

Latest Articles

Beyond Power Voltra 1 Review: Impressive Tech & Performance

Quick Overview The Beyond Power Voltra 1 is a unique, portable, high-quality cable attachment with up to 200...

Shogun NORD-EX Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Shogun NORD-EX is a posterior chain machine that allows for Nordic curls and back extensions....

REP PR-5000 Power Rack Review (2024)

Quick Overview The REP PR-5000 is a highly configurable power rack with excellent specs for home and commercial...