HomeReviewsShoesReebok Legacy Lifter 3 Review ()

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Review (2024)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

The Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 weightlifting shoes are premium, well-made, and durable shoes. With a 22mm TPU heel, they provide excellent support for weight training. Their neutral toe box offers a comfortable fit and allows for ample toe splay for a stable base. The 3rd iteration also brings back the classic Reebok Pump for some nostalgic flair.

Overall Rating: 9.2/10

Construction: 9.4/10

Stability: 9.3/10

Versatility: 9.3/10

Aesthetics: 9.4/10

Price: 8.5/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Powerlifters and Olympic Weightlifters
  • Those who want more room in the toe box
  • Someone who likes a higher heel

Things to Consider

  • The tongue pump is more of a novelty
  • Limited velcro surface area on midfoot strap

Let me get straight to the point: the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3’s are excellent weightlifting shoes.

This line has grown in popularity since Reebok released the 1st generation in 2016.

Much of this 3rd iteration is carried over from the 2nd, but with some aesthetic updates and the inclusion of the tongue Pumps.

These are firmly in my shoe rotation, but there are some drawbacks worth noting.

And how well do those throwback Pumps actually work?

In this review, I’ll cover everything you need to know about the Legacy Lifter 3’s. I’ll share the pros and cons and compare them to other popular options, including the Adidas Adipower 3 and Nike Romaleos 4 weightlifting shoes.

Let’s dig in.

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Weightlifting Shoes

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Specs
Reebok Legacy Lifter 3
Reebok Legacy Lifter III
The Legacy Lifter III are high-quality weightlifting shoes with a true-to-size fit and an ultra-stable 22mm heel. They're very well-rounded and ideal for powerlifters and Olympic weightlifters.
Check Price at Reebok Check Price at Rogue

The Legacy Lifter 3’s are premium, well-rounded weightlifting shoes with great specs and performance.

I’m impressed with the overall fit of these shoes and found the neutral toe box allows for ample toe splay.

The outsole grip, elevated TPU heel, and heavier construction are other qualities I enjoy.

Despite a couple of features falling short in my testing, these have become some of my favorite weightlifting shoes.

Let’s have a look at the specs and jump into the review.

Specs

  • Heel Height: 22mm (0.87″)
  • Weight: 22.4 oz (size 10)
  • Straps: Single + Reebok Pump
  • Heel Type: TPU
  • Removable Insole: Yes
  • Outsole: Full Rubber
  • Toebox Width: Neutral
  • Sizing: True to Size
  • Colorways: Three

Construction

True to its predecessors, the Legacy Lifter 3 is a well-constructed shoe. From the reinforced boot interior to the more thoroughly wrapped heel, this shoe looks and feels durable. With double-stitched seams throughout the upper and excellent overall consistency, I’m confident it will perform for a long time.

That said, there are a couple of design decisions I’m not too fond of, which I’ll detail below.

Upper

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Upper

These uppers are constructed with a textile material reminiscent of soft leather. It’s more pliable than the Do Win Weightlifting Shoes and TYR L-1 Lifters, creating a slightly more comfortable experience.

The mesh elements around the ankle provide additional comfort, and I like the taller boot, which reminds me of the Nike Romaleos.

A series of fully perforated holes beneath the laces make these some of the most breathable weightlifting shoes I’ve tried.

Midsole & Heel

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Heel

The heel is arguably the best feature of the Legacy Lifter 3’s. The oversized heel not only looks cool, but it makes for a very sturdy experience, especially laterally.

This is a TPU heel, so there will be minimal compression. You can confidently squat large numbers with these shoes, which is one of the reasons they’re such a popular choice among powerlifters.

The effective heel height of 22mm places it at the top of the competition and creates a nice angle for squats. Those looking for a higher heel will appreciate this shoe compared to more entry-level lifters.

You’ll find a TPU heel clip above the main heel on the back of the boot. While the mesh areas are cushiony, they’re less supportive than some. This heel clip provides additional structure and helps prevent heel slippage (assuming you’re correctly sized – see more below).

Outsole

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Outsole

These shoes have a full rubber outsole carried over from the Legacy Lifter 2’s. I’m impressed with its grip on rubber and wood surfaces and would place it just below the Adipower 3’s in this department.

Other Features

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Pumps

The most notable and unique feature of the Legacy Lifter 3’s is the Reebok Pump. Like the cult-classic Pumps from the ’80s, you can pump the tongues up for a more snug fit. It’s a nostalgic experience, but it’s more or less a novelty.

In my testing, the pump marginally tightens the fit, but not enough to make a meaningful difference. A small release button lets you easily remove pressure when finished. I recommend fully releasing the pressure at the end of your training session.

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Midfoot Strap & Velcro

Additionally, the shoes include a single midfoot strap over a lace enclosure. One thing I love about the Reebok Lifter PR 3 is the inclusion of the hash marks on the strap. Those are missing on the Legacy Lifter 3’s, which I would have loved to see.

I’m also confused and unimpressed by the small velcro area. While other lifting shoes have full-length velcro patches, the Legacy 3’s only have a 2.5″ effective length. If your foot anatomy requires a tight pull of this strap, you may overstretch the strap and get even less velcro. Thankfully the velcro is strong, but this is the most disappointing feature of the shoe.

Lifting Performance

Squatting in the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3

In my experience, Legacy Lifters are among the top performers in this class. As a big fan of the second version, I had high expectations for the third, and I’ve come away impressed again.

Performance-wise, these are some of the most well-rounded weightlifting shoes I’ve tested. The 22mm heel is my preferred height, and the TPU heel creates a locked-down feeling during squats and other movements. The way the heel wraps around the boot creates a cradle effect that I appreciate compared to other models.

These shoes also perform nicely on Olympic movements and accessories. The wider toe box allows me to spread my toes more than most weightlifting shoes, adding additional stability.

Training in the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3

I wanted to love the Pumps on the Legacy 3’s, but they simply don’t work as I hoped. I’m also disappointed in the strap and hoped for a redesign with more velcro coverage. While neither impacts my performance, getting the right size is important (see below).

Lastly, the outsole of these shoes is excellent. Regardless of what movements I’m performing, I’m confident in their grip on all surfaces.

The Legacy 3’s have become my go-to weightlifting shoes due largely to their performance. Whether used for powerlifting or Olympic weightlifting, I think most users will also find they perform well.

Aesthetics

The Legacy Lifter 3’s have a classic Reebok aesthetic, headlined by the old-school Pump. I love the look of these shoes, especially the balance between glossy and matte finishes. The multiple textures combine to create a nice-looking profile that I appreciate.

These shoes are currently available in three colorways, which you can view below:

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Sizing

The Legacy Lifter 3s generally fit true to size, but I recommend most people size down a half-size relative to training shoes. For example, I wear a 10.5 in the Reebok Nanos and a 10 in the Legacy Lifters. I like a tighter fit with weightlifting shoes and feel it helps performance.

Overall, these shoes have a fairly neutral width through the midfoot and toe box. Narrow and neutral-footed lifters should be pleased with a true-to-size order, but wide-footed lifters may want to order a half-size up.

I wish the pumps did more to enhance the tightness, but I’m quite pleased with the fit of these shoes overall.

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 vs. Adidas Adipower 3

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3
Adidas Adipower 3
Product
Product
Reebok Legacy Lifter 3
Adidas Adipower 3
Price
Price
$220
$220
Heel Height
Heel Height
22mm (0.87")
22mm (0.87")
Strap
Strap
Single
Single
Fit
Fit
Neutral
Narrow/Neutral
Size
Size
True to Size
True to Size

Adidas has been making some of the best weightlifting shoes since 2004. Their Adipower line is also in its 3rd generation, and while it shares some similarities, there are several notable differences.

Both of these shoes have firm 22mm TPU heels. If you like a higher heel, either pair will likely appeal to you relative to some other models.

While both offer single midfoot straps, the Adipower 3 is better due to more velcro coverage and less overhang. High-arched lifters may prefer the Adipowers for this reason.

However, the Adipowers are noticeably narrower, especially in the toe box. This is the biggest difference between these shoes and why I prefer the Legacy Lifter 3’s. Not only are they more comfortable, but the increased toe splay contributes to greater stability.

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 vs. Adidas Adipower 3

Regarding fit, I’ve found that both fit true to size, but you’ll get a tighter fit in the Adipowers. Narrow-footed lifters will likely favor the Adipowers, while neutral or wide-footed lifters will prefer the Reeboks.

Another difference is that the Reeboks weigh approximately 6 ounces more than the Adipowers. Olympic lifters with slower foot turnover may prefer the lighter Adipowers. As someone who mainly uses them for squatting, I prefer the heavier feel of the Legacy Lifters.

Both shoes sell for the same price, not including any sales. Ultimately, this decision comes down to fit. I’m a fan of both shoes, but the Legacy Lifters get my head-to-head nod because of my foot anatomy and preferences.

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 vs. Nike Romaleos 4

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3
Nike Romaleos 4
Product
Product
Reebok Legacy Lifter 3
Nike Romaleos 4
Price
Price
$220
$200
Heel Height
Heel Height
22mm (0.87")
20mm (0.75")
Strap
Strap
Single
Dual
Fit
Fit
Neutral
Narrow
Size
Size
True to Size
Runs Small

In their 4th iteration, the Nike Romaleos 4 are another popular lifting shoe. They have a similar-looking profile, but there are a few key differences.

Unlike the 22mm heel on the Legacy Lifters, the Romaleos have a 20mm heel. While that doesn’t make a huge difference in performance, I prefer the higher heel. Both heels are made of TPU and are very supportive.

Another difference between these shoes is that the Romaleos have a dual strap system, which creates a more secure fit through the midfoot. The straps also have more velcro surface area, which I prefer over the Legacy Lifters.

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 vs. Nike Romaleos 4

Regarding fit, Romaleos are known for being very narrow through the midfoot and into the toe box. While the Legacy Lifters can be safely ordered true to size, most users will need to order a half-size up in the Romaleos. Even still, I don’t recommend the Romaleos for those with wide feet.

I’ve found the Romaleos to have a slightly more supportive base thanks to its unique outsole design. A wider base at the forefoot and heel creates more lateral stability, which Olympic weightlifters may prefer.

Again, this will likely come down to fit. If you have a narrow foot or want a tighter-fitting lifting shoe, the Romaleos are a great choice, especially for Olympic lifters. Otherwise, I feel the Legacy Lifters provide superior fit, comfort, and versatility.

User Reviews

The Reebok Legacy Lifter III shoes were released on February 13th, 2023. When retailers capture more user reviews, I will update this section. Historically, the Legacy Lifter line has been among the highest-rated in its class.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • 2mm TPU heel is supportive and stable
  • Solid fit for most foot anatomies
  • Grippy outsole helps traction
  • Heavier build creates a grounded feel
  • Sleek aesthetic

Cons

  • The Pumps have little impact on fit or performance
  • Limited midfoot strap velcro
  • Expensive compared to some

Final Thoughts

The Reebok Legacy Lifter 3’s are among my favorite weightlifting shoes. I love their overall performance, comfort, and aesthetic.

However, I am disappointed in the Pumps and the smaller velcro area on the midfoot strap.

The heavier construction provides a very grounded feel, which most people will love, especially on squats.

That said, individuals who don’t have quick feet may consider lighter options for Olympic weightlifting.

Overall, these are excellent shoes. At $220, they’re among the most expensive, but if you’re a serious lifter looking for quality shoes, these are a great option.

Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Rating

Construction: 9.4/10

Stability: 9.3/10

Versatility: 9.3/10

Aesthetics: 9.4/10

Price: 8.5/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.2/10

FAQs About the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3

  • How do the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 Shoes Fit?

    The Legacy Lifter 3 has a neutral profile through the midfoot and toe box. Neutral and narrow-footed lifters can safely order true-to-size, but wide-footed lifters may opt for a half-size up.

  • Do the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3s Perform Well for Squats?

    The Legacy Lifters have a 22mm TPU heel, making them outstanding squat shoes. Their heavier construction grounds the foot well and creates a very stable base. Additionally, the less restrictive toe box allows for greater toe splay, which helps to increase support.

  • Are the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 good for Olympic Weightlifting?

    Yes – these shoes have a grippy outsole and supportive heel for all Olympic movements. The strap provides ample security through the midfoot, and the heel clip reduces slippage. However, those who like a lighter shoe for Oly lifts may prefer other shoes, like the Adidas Adipowers.

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.
Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.

Latest Articles

Beyond Power Voltra 1 Review: Impressive Tech & Performance

Quick Overview The Beyond Power Voltra 1 is a unique, portable, high-quality cable attachment with up to 200...

Shogun NORD-EX Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Shogun NORD-EX is a posterior chain machine that allows for Nordic curls and back extensions....

REP PR-5000 Power Rack Review (2024)

Quick Overview The REP PR-5000 is a highly configurable power rack with excellent specs for home and commercial...