HomeReviewsShoesAdidas Adipower 3 Review ()

Adidas Adipower 3 Review (2024)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

The Adidas Adipower 3 Weightlifting Shoes are a popular option for serious lifters. They provide a nice balance of support and comfort with a 22mm elevated TPU heel and a breathable upper. These are durable, grippy shoes with a midfoot strap for extra security. They fit true to size but are best for neutral or narrow feet.

Overall Rating: 9.0/10

Construction: 9.3/10

Stability: 9.1/10

Versatility: 9.0/10

Aesthetics: 9.3/10

Price: 8.5/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Powerlifters and Olympic weightlifters
  • Lifters who want the highest heel
  • Those who want a clean aesthetic

Things to Consider

  • Narrow toe box may cause issues for wider feet
  • More expensive than some

Adidas has been a big name in the weightlifting shoe market since the 2004 release of the Adidas Adistars.

I’ve been an adamant fan of their lifting shoes, having used the original Adipowers for over 7 years (still going strong).

The third iteration of this popular line brings a new level of comfort and a freshened-up aesthetic.

However, their narrow toe box may cause issues for lifters with wider feet.

In this review, we’ll take a close look at the Adidas Adipower 3’s. I’ll share the pros and cons and compare them to other popular options, including the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 and Nike Romaleos 4 weightlifting shoes.

Let’s dig in.

Adidas Adipower III Weightlifting Shoes

Adidas Adipower 3 Specs
Adidas Adipower 3 Weightlifting Shoes
Adidas Adipower III
The Adidas Adipower 3's are premium weightlifting shoes with solid construction and performance. They're excellent for squats and ideal for lifters with narrow/moderately wide feet.
CHECK PRICE

The Adipower 3’s are premium-priced weightlifting shoes with solid performance and versatility.

Powerlifters and Olympic weightlifters can benefit from the elevated TPU heel, which I found quite supportive in my testing.

While these shoes fit true to size for most people, the narrower toe box limits splay and may cause fit issues for some. Read more on sizing below.

I’m impressed with the Adipower’s outsole grip on rubber and wood surfaces, and the midfoot strap and rear finger loop are other features I enjoy.

The breathable and pliable upper makes for a very comfortable experience, but there are some performance drawbacks that I’ll explain.

Ultimately, I’m a fan of these shoes, and while I don’t think they’re the absolute best, I do think most will enjoy them.

Let’s have a look at the specs and jump into the review.

Specs

  • Heel Height: 22mm (0.87″)
  • Weight: 16 oz (size 10)
  • Straps: Single
  • Heel Type: TPU
  • Removable Insole: Yes
  • Outsole: Full Rubber
  • Width: Narrow/Neutral
  • Sizing: True to Size
  • Colorways: Four

Construction

The Adipower 3’s are a well-constructed, durable weightlifting shoe. I appreciate the material selection and the fact these shoes have sustainable elements. The stitching and gluing are consistent throughout, and with reinforcements in the interior forefoot and velcro strap, I’m pleased with the long-term prospects.

Upper

Adidas Adipower 3 Upper

These uppers are constructed with a lightweight ripstop material that’s comfortable and very breathable. Six perforated holes beneath the laces help promote additional venting.

You’ll also find partial synthetic coverings across the base of the toe box and throughout portions of the midfoot. In addition to visual contributions, these coverings enhance structural integrity and durability.

Lastly, the uppers are sustainably built with at least 50% recycled materials.

Midsole and Heel

Adidas Adipower 3 Heel

Like other weightlifting shoes in this class, the Adipowers are built with a TPU (Thermoplastic Polyurethane) midsole and heel. TPU is high-density and ultra-stable, creating a supportive, non-compressive shoe.

The 22mm effective heel height is at the high end of the range, which I prefer for positioning and overall performance.

Outsole

Adidas Adipower 3 Outsole

The outsole of these shoes consists of a low-profile rubber with small nodules covering the whole shoe. Their pattern is reminiscent of barbell knurling. The forefoot and heel include a more aggressive texture, while the midfoot is flatter except for the Adidas logo.

Carried on from the previous Adipower 2’s, this unique design does a great job of gripping the floor/platform. In my experience, it’s one of the best in this department.

Other Features

Similar to other weightlifting shoes, the Adipower 3’s have a midfoot strap for extra security and a tighter fit. It offers durable, strong velcro and an appropriate length that doesn’t overhang.

One of my favorite features of these shoes is the finger loop above the heel. This makes it very easy to put the shoes on, and it’s surprisingly rare among other shoes in this class.

Lifting Performance

Squatting in the Adidas Adipower 3 Weightlifting Shoes

My feelings about the performance of the Adidas Adipower 3 are favorable, but with a couple of caveats.

On the plus side, the TPU heel and 22mm height are excellent. I feel super stable in the shoes and think they’re among the best for performing squats and all their variations. Although the midfoot strap isn’t unique, I appreciate the extra security and tightness that it offers.

On the downside, the toe box is rather narrow. This has been true throughout the Adipower line and something I’ve been hoping Adidas would adjust in future releases. While they aren’t the most restrictive shoes I’ve used, you can’t spread your toes as much as some others.

Performing a forward lunge in the Adidas Adipower 3 Weightlifting Shoes

I thoroughly love the outsole grip of these shoes and find them among the most impressive I’ve tested. Whether you’re performing dynamic Olympic movements like the clean and jerk, or more static movements like the squat, these stick like glue.

I’ve noticed with this model that the more supple upper construction doesn’t feel as supportive as others. While my heel has never slipped out of them, this may indicate that the last mold doesn’t align as well with my foot shape as others, including the original Adipowers.

Ultimately, the Adipower 3’s are a strong performer and a pair that most lifters, from beginners to advanced, will appreciate. That said, getting a good fit is key, which simply won’t be possible for some (see below).

Aesthetics

The Adipowers have one of the cleanest aesthetics among weightlifting shoes. The understated design, particularly in the neutral colorways, looks sophisticated. These are hard to beat if you’re looking for black or white shoes. However, if you fancy vibrant colors, then you’re likely to find other shoes, like the Nike Romaleos 4, more fitting.

I also like the offset and stack height callouts on the heel edge. In addition to the “Strength in Numbers,” it’s a unique identifier.

These shoes are currently available in four colorways, which you can view below:

Adidas Adipower 3 Sizing

The Adipower 3s have a neutral width through the midfoot and a more narrow toe box. I’ve found them to run true to size for weightlifting shoes, but I recommend most people size down a half-size relative to training shoes. For instance, I wear a 10 in the Adipower 3s but a 10.5 in Reebok Nanos, Nike Metcons, etc.

If you have a wider foot, I would stick with your training shoe size or size up a half-size. Otherwise, wider shoes like the TYR L-1 Lifters may be a more suitable option.

I caution buyers who want to size up more than a half-size because the Adipowers run true to size in length. Sizing up too much for width’s sake may result in an awkward fit and clumsy performance.

Adidas Adipower 3 vs. Reebok Legacy Lifter 3

Adidas Adipower 3
Reebok Legacy Lifter 3
Product
Product
Adidas Adipower 3
Reebok Legacy Lifter 3
Price
Price
$220
$220
Heel Height
Heel Height
22mm (0.87")
22mm (0.87")
Strap
Strap
Single
Single
Fit
Fit
Narrow/Neutral
Neutral
Size
Size
True to Size
True to Size

The Reebok Legacy Lifter 3 are in the same class as the Adipowers. Similarly priced, these are premium weightlifting shoes with solid features.

Both of these shoes share a 22mm TPU heel, creating a stable lifting experience. They also each have a single midfoot strap. However, the Legacy Lifter 3 strap has much less velcro surface area, making it harder for some to get tight through the midfoot. This is especially true for high-arched lifters.

The biggest difference between these two shoes is the toe box. The legacy Lifter 3 has a noticeably wider toe box, providing plenty of room for toe splay. This can contribute to a more supportive and balanced base depending on foot width.

Adidas Adipower 3 vs. Reebok Legacy Lifter 3

Both of these shoes run true to size in length, but the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3’s may run slightly big for neutral or narrow-footed lifters. While I wear in 10 in both, I can get a tighter fit in the Adipower 3’s. I suggest a half-size down for most people in the Legacy Lifters (relative to training shoes) unless you have a wider foot. In that case, I think you’ll be quite pleased with the fit going true to size.

Another interesting feature of the Legacy Lifter 3’s is that they’ve brought back the classic Reebok Pump! This is a fun, nostalgic feature, but it doesn’t do all that much in terms of fit or performance.

The Legacy Lifter 3’s are currently my favorite pair of lifting shoes. I love the look and the wider toe box. Ultimately, I think it comes down to your foot anatomy. If you’re a narrow-footed lifter, I think the Adipower 3’s will result in a better fit. Neutral and wide-footed lifters will likely prefer the Legacy Lifter 3’s.

Adidas Adipower 3 vs. Nike Romaleos 4

Adidas Adipower 3
Nike Romaleos 4
Product
Product
Adidas Adipower 3
Nike Romaleos 4
Price
Price
$220
$200
Heel Height
Heel Height
22mm (0.87")
20mm (0.75")
Strap
Strap
Single
Dual
Fit
Fit
Narrow/Neutral
Narrow
Size
Size
True to Size
Runs Small

The Nike Romaleos 4 are another popular weightlifting shoe with time-tested performance on the platform. They’re slightly less expensive than the Adipowers and carry some impressive specs.

In terms of fit, the Romaleos are notoriously narrow through the midfoot and into the toebox. While I recommend many people to order a half-size down on most weightlifting shoes (relative to training shoes), I encourage most to do the opposite with Romaleos. At the very least, I would start with your training shoe size if you have narrow feet. If you have wide feet, I would look elsewhere.

Unlike the Adipowers, Nike Romaleos have a dual strap system popularized in earlier versions. This creates excellent security and a very snug fit. If tightness is an important factor for you, it’s hard to beat the Romaleos.

Adidas Adipower 3 vs. Nike Romaleos 4

Both shoes offer a TPU heel, but an important distinction is that the Nike’s have a 20mm heel (vs. 22mm). I prefer that taller stack on the Adipowers, but the difference isn’t extremely noticeable. Both are very supportive and effective.

Another interesting feature of the Romaleos is that they have a wider outsole with sharper edges to prevent the foot from rolling inward or outward. While I like this feature for stability, it takes some getting used to compared to the rounder edges of other weightlifting shoes.

Overall, I gravitate more to the Adipower 3’s because of the fit. I also prefer them for squats with the slightly higher heel and rounded outsole. Olympic weightlifters may prefer the Romaleos 4’s because of their stability and versatility, but only those with narrow or moderate-width feet.

User Reviews

The Adipower 3s are some of the highest-rated weightlifting shoes on the market. Users love the quality and stability, but some found the shoe too narrow for their wider feet. Overall, owners were very pleased with the performance and stability, but a few found them too flexible through the midfoot, especially compared to the original Adipowers.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Supportive 22mm TPU heel
  • Best-in class outsole grip
  • Good construction quality
  • Beautiful, clean aesthetic
  • Ripstop upper is comfortable and sustainably made

Cons

  • Not ideal for wide-footed lifters
  • Higher price than most
  • Not as versatile as some

Final Thoughts

The Adidas Adipower 3 weightlifting shoes remain a top contender for serious lifters looking for a solid performer.

I don’t think they’re in the same class as the original Adipowers, but they offer strong specs and functionality.

I don’t recommend them as much for wide-footed lifters, but I think they’re a nice option for moderate-to-narrow lifters.

I also recommend them more for squatting and accessory movements since the less rigid upper doesn’t feel quite as supportive for Oly lifts.

Overall, these shoes are priced at the top of the market. I enjoy them overall, but I prefer the Reebok Legacy Lifters for the same price.

You can also check out the more affordable Adidas Powerlift 5 weightlifting shoes for a budget-friendly/beginner option.

Adidas Adipower 3 Rating

Construction: 9.3/10

Stability: 9.1/10

Versatility: 9.0/10

Aesthetics: 9.3/10

Price: 8.5/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.0/10

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.
Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab and has over two decades of fitness/training experience. He serves as the chief content creator and runs our YouTube channel and social media accounts. When he's not testing equipment or sharing his love for home gym life, you'll find him with his wife and two kids in sunny South Carolina.

Latest Articles

REP PR-5000 Power Rack Review (2024)

Quick Overview The REP PR-5000 is a highly configurable power rack with excellent specs for home and commercial...

Prime Fitness Shorty Adjustable Bench Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Prime Shorty Adjustable Bench is one of the most versatile benches you can buy. Its...

Bells of Steel Residential Air Bike Review (2024)

Quick Overview The Bells of Steel Residential Air Bike is an affordable home gym option with solid specs....