HomeReviewsShoesReebok Nano X3 Review ()

Reebok Nano X3 Review (2023)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

The Reebok Nano X3 is a versatile, durable, and comfortable training shoe with several notable features. These shoes fit true to size and include a high-quality Flexweave upper. The unique chassis system and Floatride Energy Foam pair nicely for well-rounded performance, especially for CrossFit and general training.

Overall Rating: 9.1/10

Construction: 9.3/10

Stability: 8.8/10

Versatility: 9.3/10

Aesthetics: 9.0/10

Price: 8.9/10

Who It’s Right For

  • CrossFit athletes seeking performance
  • Someone looking for balance between lifting and conditioning
  • Those who want multiple color options

Things to Consider

  • Not as good for rope climbs as others
  • 7mm heel is not ideal for minimalist shoe fans

The popular Reebok Nano line continues to push the envelope in the training shoe market.

The X3 model is the 13th version of the shoe, and compared to its predecessor, it includes welcomed improvements.

Thanks to a new midsole design, the X3’s offer balanced performance, making them good running and weightlifting shoes.

However, there are some potential drawbacks for certain athletes.

In this review, I’ll cover everything you need to know about the Nano X3. I’ll share the pros and cons and compare it to the Nike Metcon 8.

Let’s dig in.

Reebok Nano X3 Training Shoes

Reebok Nano X3 Specs
Reebok Nano X3 Training Shoes
Reebok Nano X3
The Nano X3 is a versatile training shoe with balanced performance for CrossFit and more. It offers a unique midsole technology, a durable offer, and a nice aesthetic.
Check Price at Reebok Check Price at Rogue

In my opinion, the Nano X3’s are among the top CrossFit shoes you can buy.

Released in February 2023, these shoes come in various colorways at a competitive, but slightly higher price point.

I’ve been quite pleased with their performance and use them often for cross-training and accessory movements.

The Lift and Run (L.A.R.) Chassis lives up to its billing and stands out among clunkier shoes in my testing.

That said, the Floatride foam isn’t as good for lifting heavy compared to those with more rigid construction.

Let’s have a look at the specs and jump into the review.

Specs

  • Heel Height: 7mm (0.28″)
  • Removable Insole: Yes
  • Rope Guard: Yes
  • Midsole: Floatride Energy Foam
  • Outsole: Full Rubber
  • Toebox Width: Neutral
  • Sizing: True to Size
  • Colorways: 15

Construction

The Reebok X3’s are generally well-constructed and feel more durable than the previous version. I’m impressed with the consistency throughout the shoes, especially at the seams. The material selection is appropriate for a cross-training shoe, and I’m happy to see a reworked ROPEPLUS that plagued the X2.

Upper

These uppers are constructed with Reebok’s Flexweave, a familiar material for Nano lovers. This knit-like fabric is comfortable but noticeably tighter-fitting than the X2’s before. Personally, I think this is a great change. This upper hugs the foot nicely and limits unnecessary movement that some complained about in the last model.

Reebok Nano X3 Upper

Although it’s tighter, it still provides a flexible fit and excellent breathability. Compared to the Metcon 8s, these are noticeably more breathable.

I also appreciate the thicker rear upper, which feels more durable and creates solid ankle stability. However, I don’t think this upper is quite as durable as canvas-style fabrics like the GORUCK Ballistic Trainers.

Midsole & Heel

The best feature of the Nano X3 is the midsole. When first hearing about the L.A.R. Chassis System, I was somewhat apprehensive. Honestly, this new technology just sounded a bit gimmicky.

The theory behind the L.A.R. is that the heel compresses and hardens when lifting weight and softens when running to provide more cushion.

Reebok Nano X3 Midsole

Does it work? Yes, but with caveats.

For starters, the TPU heel clip does a nice job of preventing heel slippage whether you’re running or lifting. In tandem with the dome heel piece that makes the L.A.R., it provides good overall stability.

However, you shouldn’t expect the same results that you would with a proper weightlifting shoe, like the Reebok Legacy Lifter 3. It’s also not as rigid as some other cross-trainers, like the Metcon 8s, so those performing a lot of heavy barbell movements may find it lacking.

I do like the 7mm heel as a versatile height and am more than comfortable lifting in these shoes. But when it comes to heavy attempts, I go elsewhere.

Reebok Nano X3 Heel

The Floatride Energy Foam comprising the overall midsole is an absolute winner and gives the L.A.R. system its unique balance.

True to its claim, it does provide a more comfortable running experience, which I feel is lacking in many cross-training shoes.

Outsole

The Nano X3 has a full rubber outsole with solid traction. Having used these shoes on a variety of surfaces, including rubber and turf, I’ve been pleased with its performance.

Reebok Nano X3 Outsole

Another key improvement of this shoe compared to the X2 is the reworked ROPEPRO. One of the biggest complaints on the last version was the durability of the plastic piece running through the inside edge of the midfoot.

While Reebok reduced this piece on the X3 to improve durability, I still don’t think this is the best shoe for rope climbs.

Performance

In my experience, the Reebok X3 has regained ground in this competitive class. After the X2s received some blowback for performance and durability, Reebok went back to the drawing board and made nice improvements.

Running in the Reebok Nano X3

Performance-wise, I’m impressed with the overall versatility of the shoe. The L.A.R. is a legitimate feature that excels during runs. I normally find cross-training shoes suffer during distance runs, so the X3’s are a pleasant surprise.

The Floatride Energy Foam is responsive when running on my manual treadmills and flatter outdoor surfaces. It absorbs force as well as any in its class, and I found traditional CrossFit movements like box jumps and double-unders, felt great.

Testing the Reebok Nano X3

In terms of lifting, the X3s performed well. I like the taller heel on these for squat variations, but I prefer something lower for deadlifts. Because the EVA Energy Foam and overall heel construction aren’t as rigid, I found others more supportive during heavy attempts.

However, I love these shoes for general strength training, including accessory and bodybuilding movements. The grippy outsole and heavier ankle construction also make these good shoes for activities requiring change of direction.

Aesthetics

The X3’s have a clean look overall with some classic Reebok touches. I personally gravitate toward the neutral colorways, but they have numerous options to pick from.

These shoes are currently available in fifteen (and growing) colorways, a few of which you can view below:

Rebook Nano X3 Sizing

The X3’s from Reebok will fit true to size for most people. I typically wear a 10.5 in training shoes, and ordering the X3 in that size resulted in a perfect fit.

If you have particularly narrow or wide feet, I recommend ordering a half-size down or up, respectively. Otherwise, most people are safe ordering true to size.

While they’re fairly comfortable out of the box, you should expect a break-in period. I found them a little stiff during my first few sessions, but they loosened up nicely.

Reebok Nano X3 vs. Nike Metcon 8

Reebok Nano X3
Nike Metcon 8
Product
Product
Reebok Nano X3
Nike Metcon 8
Price
Price
$140
$130
Heel Height
Heel Height
7mm (0.28")
4mm (0.16")
Fit
Fit
Neutral
Narrow/Neutral
Size
Size
True to Size
True to Size
Lifting Performance
Lifting Performance
Good
Very Good
Run Performance
Run Performance
Great
Fair

The Nike Metcon 8’s are one of the most popular and recognized training shoes, especially in CrossFit. While there are some similarities, there are several key differences that will push you to one or the other.

In terms of construction, both of these shoes have a lightweight upper. However, I favor the feel of the X3 Flexweave over the Metcon 8 mesh. It feels more premium and is noticeably more breathable.

Both of these shoes also have EVA foam midsoles, but the Metcon 8’s have a much more rigid heel, making them better for heavy lifting. Although I like the higher heel on the X3’s for squats, the Metcon 8 support is superior. I also prefer the Nikes for deadlifts.

Reebok Nano X3 vs. Nike Metcon 8

For running, the X3s are the clear winner. The blockier heel on the Metcons feels sluggish, particularly on distance runs. The Reebok midsole, in combination with the L.A.R., leads to a much better running experience.

If you’re a big rope climber, you’ll appreciate the rubber wraps through the midfoot on the Metcon 8’s. They perform better than the X3’s, and the higher profile increases upper durability.

Both shoes offer an impressive number of colorways. Generally, I prefer the classic Reebok aesthetic, but there’s something for everyone here.

Ultimately, both of these are solid CrossFit shoes. I find the X3’s are more versatile/well-rounded with the midsole/heel construction, but the Metcons perform better for heavy lifting.

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Comfortable and breathable Flexweave upper
  • Excellent running performance for a cross-training shoe
  • Heel clip + L.A.R. improves stability
  • Great outsole traction
  • Multiple colorways

Cons

  • Not as good for heavy lifting
  • Improved for rope climbing, but still not the best
  • Fans of minimalist shoes won’t live the 7mm heel height

Final Thoughts

The Reebok Nano X3’s are near the top of the class for cross-training shoes, and I think the best for CrossFit.

I love their balanced performance and overall comfort, and I think they’re a clear improvement over the prior generation.

While I’m somewhat disappointed in heavier lifting compared to others, the versatility is outstanding.

I think the L.A.R. system has real benefits, and the Floatride Foam continues to perform well.

Ultimately, I recommend the X3’s if you’re looking for a balanced training shoe. They’re slightly more expensive than some others, but the features are worthy of strong consideration.

Reebok Nano X3 Rating

Construction: 9.3/10

Stability: 8.8/10

Versatility: 9.3/10

Aesthetics: 9.0/10

Price: 8.9/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.1/10

  • How does the Reebok Nano X3 Fit?

    Most users find the Reebok Nano X3 fits true to size. It has a neutral toe box and consistent length with other training shoes. I recommend ordering a half-size down if you have particularly narrow feet.

  • Which is better, the Reebok Nano X3 or Nike Metcon 8?

    The Nano X3 and Metcon 8's are two of the most popular training shoes. While both are great options, the Nano X3 is a more well-rounded shoe because of the L.A.R. system. It's especially good for running. However, the more rigid midsole on the Metcon 8 makes it better for heavy lifting.

  • Is the Reebok Nano X3 Good for CrossFit?

    Absolutely. In my experience, the Nano X3 is one of the best shoes for CrossFit because of its balance between running and lifting. Its responsive midsole is excellent for box jumps, double-unders, and longer runs. Although it performs well during lifting, heavy lifters will likely appreciate a shoe with a more rigid midsole, like the Metcon 8. Still, the versatility of the Nano X3 makes it an ideal CrossFit shoe.

Adam Hensley
Adam Hensley
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab. He serves as the chief content creator with over two decades of training experience. When he's not testing equipment and writing about all things fitness, Adam loves spending time with his wife and two children.

Latest Articles

7 Best Plate Trees to Buy in 2023

Too Busy for the Full Read? The REP Bar and Weight Plate Tree is our top pick because...

Bells of Steel Lat Pulldown Review (2023)

Quick Overview The Bells of Steel Lat Pulldown is a quality selectorized machine with a 310 lb weight...

7 Best Dip Belts to Buy in 2023

Too Busy for the Full Read? The Rogue Dip Belt is our top choice because of its durable...