HomeReviewsAccessories & OrganizationWall Control Review - The Best Home Gym Organizer ()

Wall Control Review – The Best Home Gym Organizer (2022)

Garage Gym Lab is independent and supported by readers. We may earn commissions if you buy through our links.

Quick Overview

Wall Control is the best way to organize your home gym accessories. Built with 20-gauge steel, these panels are heavy-duty and capable of holding up to 200lbs each. With various sizes and colors, you can find the perfect solution for your space and design tastes. They also have a wide assortment of attachments and hooks, but you can use any pegboard attachment.

Overall Rating: 9.4/10

Build Quality: 9.6/10

Ease of Installation: 9.0/10

Attachments: 9.6/10

Aesthetics: 9.5/10

Value: 9.3/10

Who It’s Right For

  • Those looking to organize their home gym
  • Anyone who wants a durable product
  • Someone who wants specific colors
  • Those looking for made in the USA

Things to Consider

  • More expensive than traditional pegboards

Does your gym have accessories, attachments, and other odds & ends that don’t really have a “home?”

It’s ok if they don’t – mine didn’t for a long time.

I had my things “neatly” organized in a corner, jammed in a toolbox, or otherwise hidden the best that they could be.

After constantly looking for stuff, cramming things back in their places, and generally disturbing my OCD, I decided to finally get my space organized…

The tool of choice… Wall Control: one of the best home gym storage solutions you can buy.

Best Home Gym Organization System
Wall Control System
4.8

Wall Control is an amazing organizer for your fitness accessories and attachments. Easily assembled, it will transform your space into a beautiful and efficient gym.

CHECK PRICE

I had seen and heard about Wall Control for a long time, but it wasn’t until 2019 – a full three years after I started my home gym – that I finally bought it.

It turned out to be one of the best decisions I ever made because it legitimately transformed my space both functionally and aesthetically.

What started with 4 Wall Control panels in my first gym has morphed into an epic 10-panel beast of a home gym organization setup.

In this review, I’ll walk you through the Wall Control system, help you identify the right attachments to buy, and give you some tips on picking and installing the panels.

If you end up purchasing Wall Control, you can use code ‘GARAGEGYM’ to save 10% off your entire order.

Let’s dig in.

Wall Control Review

Build Quality Rating: 9.6/10

Wall Control is the most well-made pegboard system on the market. It’s built with steel and is capable of holding 200lbs. In addition to home gym accessories, this is a great option for storing tools, craft supplies, and many other things.

Wall Control is a metal pegboard system that uses a series of slots and holes to accommodate various pegboard attachments and accessories. It’s an excellent pegboard to organize your home gym.

As most of us have seen, perhaps in our grandad’s shed, pegboards have commonly come in other materials like masonite, particleboard, etc… While those can get the job done at a cheaper price, they’re pretty unattractive and they aren’t very durable over the long term.

Wall Control Home Gym - Organization - Garage Gym Lab

Wall Control, on the other hand, is extremely durable because it’s constructed with 20-gauge steel. Not only that, but when properly installed (more below), each panel is capable of handling up to 200lbs. This is especially great in the home gym where attachments and other accessories can be quite heavy.

You can purchase Wall Control panels in a few different sizes and orientations. Most people will use the 32″ tall x 16″ wide panels, although the 16″ x 32″ panel is another popular and useful option. I own and use both myself.

By installing Wall Control in my garage gym, I was able to get rid of all the clutter on the ground and onto the wall very neatly. In doing so, and in conjunction with my DIY water heater enclosure, I was able to capture 50 extra square feet of storage space that I otherwise wouldn’t have had.

FIFTY square feet – that’s meaningful.

Let’s take a closer look at the product.

Video Review

Assembly and Installation

Installation Rating: 9.6/10

Wall Control can be installed on a variety of surfaces, including drywall, studs, and concrete. Mounting screws and anchors are provided. I recommend mounting directly to studs to ensure maximum strength.

Wall Control ships with the panels and all necessary hardware, which includes screws and drywall anchors (if needed).

Wall Control Home Gym - Construction - Garage Gym Lab

Each panel sits 3/4″ from the wall and they include rounded edges to eliminate any sharpness. In the corners and on the middle edges are six holes that are used to mount the panels. These holes are spaced 16″ on center to accommodate the studs in most people’s homes.

My recommendation, having installed Wall Control numerous times, is to use studs. If you’re hanging light things like yarn, crafts, camera accessories, small tools, etc… mounting into drywall via the anchors is fine. If you’re hanging heavy things like gym equipment, power tools, etc… studs are the way to go.

Wall Control Home Gym - Installation - Garage Gym Lab

If you don’t have 16″ stud spacing or if mounting to your studs would create an off-center look, then you can mount stringer boards to your studs and then mount the Wall Control panels directly onto those boards. This is exactly what I did in my first gym because my stud spacing created an uneven layout between two large windows. By stringer-mounting, I was able to get the same stud security while also creating a perfectly centered and attractive setup.

Wall Control Home Gym - Panels - Garage Gym Lab

Something else to consider is if you’re planning to mount panels side-by-side, which many users will. In this case, you’ll be mounting two panels into one stud, assuming you’re mounting directly into studs at all. When doing this, you must mark your stud properly and get the edges of the panels as close to the center as possible. This way you get a strong thread on both panels.

Ultimately, mounting Wall Control is very easy. Once you get the first panel mounted, the rest fall right into place.

Attachments

Attachments Rating: 9.6/10

There are numerous attachments that you can use on these panels. Wall Control has over 50 for the vertical panel slots, but you can use any traditional pegboard attachment in the round holes.

As of the time of this review, Wall Control has over 50 attachment options for their panels depending on what you’ll be storing.

The good news is that you only need to focus on a few of them. I made the mistake when first purchasing Wall Control of buying a variety pack because I simply didn’t know what I needed. My loss is your gain because now I know exactly what to buy and recommend for your home gym organization needs.

Wall Control Home Gym - Long Reach Hook - Garage Gym Lab

The first attachment I suggest is the 2 7/8″ Long Reach Hook. This is one of my most used hooks because it works in so many different applications. For the home gym, you can use these hooks for carabiners, hitch pins, cable attachments, bands, and much more. These attachments have an extended hook at the end to prevent anything from falling off unnecessarily. They come in a pack of four, they’re very affordable, and they work perfectly.

Wall Control Home Gym - Curved Tip Hook - Garage Gym Lab

The second attachment I suggest is similar to the long reach, and that’s the 3 1/2″ Curved Tip Hook. These work much like the long-reach hooks, but with a little extra length and with a hook that bends back towards the panel. This can provide even more protection against things sliding off. These also come in packs of four.

Wall Control Home Gym - Extended Reach Hook - Garage Gym Lab

The third attachment I recommend is the 6″ extended reach hook. This is great for things like weight belts, bands, foam rollers, etc… It has a small hook at the end, but its length is the primary benefit. These come in packs of two.

In addition to these, Wall Control also sells various other attachments, including shelves which I also own and recommend.

Wall Control Home Gym - Attachments - Garage Gym Lab

In terms of securing the hooks, all Wall Control attachments use the slots via the panels. Simply slide the back-end of the hook into the slot and then press down. This will ensure the hook is locked in place and ready for action. Keep in mind that sometimes when pulling things off the hooks, they may slide up and loosen if you hit them from the underside. This is a minor and rare issue that is solved just by pressing them back in place.

Because Wall Control panels have a combination of their slots and traditional pegboard holes spaced 1″ on center, you can also use attachments from outside companies. For example, Amazon sells a variety of baskets that work well to store things like knee sleeves, wrist wraps, barbell maintenance tools, etc…

Don’t get too overwhelmed by all the options. Stick to the basic attachments – you likely won’t need much, if anything else.

Aesthetics

Aesthetics Rating: 9.5/10

There isn’t a better-looking pegboard system out there, in my opinion. Wall Control has multiple colors with glossy or matte finishes. Their attachments are also available in several colors to create unique and beautiful designs. If that’s not enough, you can customize the panels through their partnership with HangTime, including custom colors, graphics, and more.

Another great benefit of Wall Control is that you can pick from a variety of colors and finishes. As of this review, Wall Control offers 12 standard colors and 5 signature colors. The difference between them is that the signature series has a matte finish vs. the gloss finish on the regular panels.

Wall Control Home Gym - Colors - Garage Gym Lab

In addition to the panel colors, you can also select from four colors on the attachments: red, blue, black, and white. This allows you to further customize the look of your setup.

I went with an all-white aesthetic on my Wall Control. I like the crisp look and I liked the idea of my gym pieces looking as if they were floating thanks to the single color throughout.

Wall Control Home Gym - Hang Time - Garage Gym Lab

If you want even more design control, you can fully customize your panels through Hang Time out of Atlanta, GA. While this is more expensive, you can import your own images, add your own text, select any color you want, etc… It’s a great way to take your Wall Control to the next level.

In my opinion, you won’t find a better-looking pegboard setup than Wall Control. With different panel colors, attachment colors, and bespoke customization options, there’s nothing else like it.

Price

While Wall Control is one of the most premium pegboard systems on the market, it’s still quite affordable. Each panel is going to run you less than $30 and Wall Control offers two-packs with a few dollars of savings. Attachments start as low as less than $5 for four packs.

For the average home gym owner looking to buy 2-3 panels and some attachments, you’ll be looking at between $70-$120. My entire setup, which includes 10 panels and dozens of attachments/hooks cost around $450.

To me, having a well-organized home gym is well worth it.

Remember, you can use code ‘GARAGEGYM’ to save 10% off your entire order at wallcontrol.com.

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Very durable pegboards with 20-gauge steel construction and up to a 200lb weight capacity.
  • Installation is easy and they provide all necessary hardware.
  • A combination of slots and holes accommodates attachments inside out outside of Wall Control.
  • Over 50 different Wall Control accessories to meet all of your needs (although you probably only need a few).
  • A variety of colors allows for customization of your panels and hooks.
  • Made in the USA.

Cons

  • While still a great value, Wall Control is more expensive than traditional pegboards.
  • The 32″ x 16″ panels start with the slot first whereas the 16″ x 32″ panels start with the round holes first. While this is a very minor distinction, I do wish they both started with the same slot or hole to create an even more uniform look.

Final Thoughts

I have been very impressed with my Wall Control setup. It has completely transformed my space into a well-organized, efficient space with a great-looking aesthetic to boot.

I highly recommend you look into Wall Control for your home gym – you won’t be disappointed.

Wall Control Rating

Build Quality: 9.6/10

Ease of Installation: 9.0/10

Attachments: 9.6/10

Aesthetics: 9.5/10

Value: 9.3/10

Final Verdict

Overall: 9.4/10

Wall Control is an excellent system for organizing your gym and creating a very efficient, clean, and beautiful space without spending a ton of money.

Adam
Adam
Adam is the founder of Garage Gym Lab. He serves as the chief content creator with over two decades of training experience. When he's not testing equipment and writing about all things fitness, Adam loves spending time with his wife and two children.

Black Friday 2022

Latest Articles

Nylon vs. Leather Lifting Belt: How to Choose + Recommendations

Too Busy for the Full Read? Nylon and leather are the two most common lifting belt materials. Depending...

Lever Belt vs. Prong Belt: How to Choose + Recommendations

Too Busy for the Full Read? Lever and Prong belts are the two most common weight belt mechanisms....

10mm vs. 13mm Belt: How to Choose + Recommendations

Too Busy for the Full Read? 10mm and 13mm belts are the most common leather belt sizes. Depending...